A Day of Ninja Warrior Training, An Awesome Experience

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

A Day of Ninja Warrior Training, An Awesome Experience

Last weekend, in an effort to achieve full real-life dungeons & dragons character status, I went on a pretty wild adventure that started with an awesome trip to Camp Rhino in Las Vegas. This is the place where a number of American Ninja Warrior competitors train and coach.

To be clear: I have no intention of ever really training for American Ninja Warrior, but it was an awesome time getting to try out some of their basic movements.

I highly recommend giving this a shot if you're into fitness and have access to an obstacle course gym like Camp Rhino. After about 10 minutes, the kid inside me was free and addicted to playing on the adult playground.

Also -- holy hell, are those people strong.

Salmon Ladder

It was my first time trying out some new and interesting movements. The first was the salmon ladder. I managed to get all the way to the top, and then - watch the video...

Obviously, getting down is something that I'm going to have to practice, once I find a local salmon ladder to use.

Obstacle Course

After a little coaching, I had a chance to try one of the totally reasonable obstacle courses. I was taught how to quickly bear crawl up the nets in order to speed up my climb.

In case you're new to American Ninja Warrior and want to see how comparatively uncool what I was doing is next to the real thing -- Here's a video of a pro doing this stuff:

If you ever get a chance to visit one of these places - do it. It was a truly unforgettable day.

Cheers,
Decimus

Sort:  

Wow dude, that is insane! I can't even imagine giving that a shot, but I really need to hit the gym. I always love watching those shows but it must give you a whole new level of respect for the people who actually compete when you try it yourself!

For sure, the coolest thing (that seems be achievable) was a push up the trainer did where he spun a full 360 in the air between each rep.

Jeez, that is some crazy fitness stuff!!

I go to the gym a bit, but only in a feeble attempt to not get too fat because of all the beer I drink

These people are on a whole other level!!

Cheers

It's true, I wish I had access to this stuff all the time. It's so fun.

Congratulations @decimus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @decimus! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65925.23
ETH 3003.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75