FITNESS TIPS FOR 40 Years and Over- How To Get Started!

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

image

"Life really does begin at forty. Up until then, you are just doing research. " - Carl G. Jung

"At age 20, we worry about what others think of us. At 40, we don't care what they think of us. At 60, we discover they haven't been thinking of us at all." - Ann Landers

Well said are the words of famous philosophers. One day when I woke up and realized I was 40 I had a panic attack. I thought my goodness I'm getting old! But then I realized that I was just starting life.

I must say that at 47 I'm in the best shape I've ever been!

Getting older is all about getting wiser. Our physical peak might have long expired but our ability to problem solve and exercise smarter is our greatest strength.

To keep me motivated I always try to compete with a younger guys in the gym. Of course they much more stronger than I am, but I try to give them a good challenge 😎
In this way I push myself and motivate myself to be better.

What about you are you having challenges keeping or getting in shape over 40?

Are you 50 maybe 60 +?

Don't worry life is not over this can just be your beginning. Remember age is just a number!!

How to get started

You can start by taking brief walks for 30 minutes to 60 minutes.
Don't be afraid of hills or elevated areas! Try walking up the hills at a same speed as you would normally on flat ground.

image

Try brisk walking to start. If you get tired you can stop for a few minutes and continue. Don't push yourself too much in the beginning.

Try to get into the habit of exercising daily. Decided the time of day that is convenient for you. Such as early in the morning or in the evenings.
Once you have established the time stick to it!
You can create the good habit of exercising regularly. Once this becomes a habit you will do it automatically almost without knowing it. This may take 60 to 90 days but it is possible.

ONCE YOU HAVE DECIDED TO EXERCISE, STARTED TODAY DON'T PROCRASTINATE!

BE DETERMINED TO MAINTAIN YOUR SELF DISCIPLINE!!

If you don't have self discipline you can learn it!

Here are some fitness goals you can strive for

1.Sitting down without wheezing, groaning, or sighing.
If you’re constantly groaning when you sit on your chair or getting up, it’s probably maybe you’ve getting weak in eccentric strength in your hamstrings and glutes.
You can Improve this with body squats.
Try doing two to three sets or 20 repetitions one to two times a week.

  1. Seeing your toes without looking in the mirror
    At the age of 40 all metabolism slows down big time. With this against us is imperative that we do everything in our power to boost metabolism. Why?
    Most men give it up weight gain in there midsection. This mean that you are at high risk of health problems if your waist size is more than 94cm.
    What can you do?
    Watch your diet!
    You don't have to start counting calories. However you must be practical. You can't expect to have lasagna, pasta pizza, chocolate cakes every night and expect not to gain weight.
    Try to eat more lean white meat poultry fish with vegetables. Eat different colored vegetables.
    You can have a slice of cake now and again or drink a beer with your buddies.
    But you must have limitations. Too much of anything is not good.
    Get into the habit of regular exercising.
    You must attempt to exercise 3 to 4 times a week minimum!

NO EXCUSES!

I always hear the saying, "I have no time! Is it really a fact really that you have no time or your time is caught up doing something else?
There is 24 hours in a day we have more than enough time!

image

The fact is you're doing something that is more important than your health.

HERE'S IS THE FACT, YOU'RE NO GOOD TO YOUR COMPANY JOB OR FAMILY IF YOU'RE SICK OR DEAD!

image

You MUST make the time to take care of the most important things. And one of them is your HEALTH.

Are you having challenges getting started in your workout routine?

Are you fed up of procrastinating?

Do you want to learn the skills of self discipline?

Send me a message I'll be very happy to help you.

You can set up a FREE appointment with me today at the link below.
https://GFLFitness.as.me/

Follow me here on my blog, or on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/GFLfitness/ where I will provide you with free tips on nutrition and workouts.

Picture: provide by Istock

Sort:  

you are so right, just wish I had the motivation. im 41. got a bike this week, well got the family bikes so we can start to do this stuff together. Its hard balancing when you have work and kids. It might be only 4% but I dont know where to fit it in.

I am running an experiment here on steemit with the aim of improving retention and the steemit experience and after looking at your account I think it is something you might enjoy. come on over and join in on the discussion
https://steemit.com/steemit/@paulag/let-s-grow-steemit-together-direct-engagement-experiment-week-1

Ok will take a look!

Nice topic . Thanks for share this post . Upvote and resteemed it . Thanks

Your welcome. Thanks for your support 💪🏾

Your are welcome

Gracias por tus consejos definitivamente nuestro cuerpo es nuestra capital principal para vivir y muchas veces no lo entendemos de esa forma, solo creemos que pasan los años y que no podemos hacer nada para sentirnos bien hasta el final de nuestros días

Absolutley right!
Sports or just movement of your body is important.
The older you get the more important it gets.
The fitter you are the more it helps you when you´re getting old.

upvoted and resteemed

Right it is important for health thank you for sharing 😊

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Your post is very beautiful.I read the post carefully.I hope you will be with us like this

Please Stop - @hrishekeshroy

You just said "very beautiful" and in your your last 100 comments you used 47 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 2 times. You've received 1 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 64.10% and Bot: 4.10%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62777.17
ETH 2951.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59