Best tasting whey protein mix I've found

in #fitness5 years ago

Is whey protein the most commonly used supplement for weightlifters? Well maybe steriods comes in at number one but I would venture to guess that whey is probably a close second (I joke i joke, i kid, i kid.) There are many benefits to using whey supplements but normally the taste isn't one of them. Mostly they taste like a sugarless powder that you force down your gullet.

However, there are exceptions and I think that Prostar - chocolate creme is my all-time favorite.

910+Q8xfrEL._SL1500_.jpg

Regardless of which one of these you get, the nutritional values are generally engineered to be around the same. 1 serving gives you around 100 calories, 25 grams of protein or so, and little to no carbohydrates. The fact that they are able to make this taste good while containing no sugar is a mystery of the universe that probably causes cancer (everything else does so why not?) and we will find out about that 30 years from now.

ultimate-nutrition-prostar-100-whey-protein-review.jpg

I lift nearly every day. I wouldn't say I am hardcore but I am pretty strong. I also live in a country where protein loading using natural ingredients is something you do at your own house, or pay a fortune for at a restaurant. Thai dishes are typically curries and this has a very small amount of meat in them - so getting the 1.5-2 grams of protein per KG of body-weight can be tricky. For me this would be around 160 grams per day and while i could eat 6 chicken breasts or 30 eggs, I prefer a more streamlined approach.

I drink one shake in the morning every day and this works out extra-well for me because for some reason, I have just never really had much of an appetite in the morning and generally will just drink coffee and eat nothing. This is not good for you, no matter what your fitness goals are so getting a shake that is loaded with exactly what I need is a nice touch. I then have another one 30 minutes after I work out for no other reason than the fact that the bottle tells you to do so.

The downside of this, and all other whey mixes is the expense. If you are protein loading on a daily basis, this will easily cost you $100 a month. I'm afraid there is just no way around this. On the flip-side, depending on where you live in the world, 180 chicken breasts and nearly 2000 eggs would probably be more expensive than this anyway.... not to mention you would probably ruin chicken for the rest of your life.

I have tried almost all flavors of whey protein that exist on the market, and the Chocolate Creme one (which costs about the same as any other one) is by far my favorite one. It is important to note that I mix mine with milk... you nutjobs that mix your stuff with water are on a level of dedication that I can't really understand.

official global site for Ultimate Nutrition

Sort:  

The taste of rancid cheese :)

Posted using Partiko Android

that probably wouldn't be a very good-selling flavor. :P

That's good

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @gooddream! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I am going to have to pass this along to my wife for sure. She has been looking for a good tasting one for a while now. She has tried buying a couple of different brands and she just can't bring herself to drink them. If it isn't enjoyable you are not really going to get the benefits from it. Some of the ones she has had me try are horrible. The other issue is, some people are much more sensitive to the taste of artificial sweeteners than other people. I am really sensitive to them. So much so that every diet soda tastes the same to me. The only thing I can taste whenever I drink them is the artificial sweetener. The same holds true with powers like this. If it has that chemical in it, that is all I can taste. No matter how chocolaty delicious it is :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98