Exercise and where you live

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

I am not a trainer, I am not a nutritionist or doctor. This is just my experience and well it is my opinion. Perhaps you will agree, it doesn't matter to me it is just a fact in my life and I think it would be for many other people as well. I recently discovered it and my personal observations.

spencer-dahl-775959-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Spencer Dahl on Unsplash

We all know we need to exercise. If you have been following me long enough you know that I got to be a bit of a fat-ass around then end of last year when i hit 106kg and am now around 88. The problem it, that since i am in my 40's that if i stop exercising, even for a little bit, i put on weight fast. This can become a problem because of where I live in Thailand.

It is absurdly hot and humid in Thailand pretty much all the time. Sure the calendar talks about the "cooler time of the year" but I gotta call bullhickey on that, it is never cool in Thailand.

Funny-Sweating-Man-Image.jpg

If you do really anything in Thailand other than sit in front of a fan you will likely sweat, a lot. Despite this I will still go for a run along the beach on the pathways and I am quite certain that I sweat a lot more liquid than is contained in the water bottle that I bring with me. I normally stop running not because I am tired but because I fear I might die of heat stroke. This normally means that I am only able to get about 3-4km in before quitting. There are air con gyms here but there is literally nothing i would rather not do than run on a treadmill. OMG that sucks.

Heat-stroke.png
how dare you try to stay fit? Says the sun

So as you know, i am now in Australia in Queensland and for the first time I went for a jog on the beach pathways that they have here and I quite easily made it 9km. I only stopped because well, i was back to where i started. I could have done more. The thing is, I wasn't anywhere near as tired as i was after just a few kilometers running in Thailand.

You don't have to be a sport scientist to figure this out I know, but I can't believe that my cardio is so much better once i get a much more amicable temperature into the mix? I understand i would be able to go a bit farther, but 3 times as far with plenty still in the tank? That's absurd.

On another side note i would also like to say this and will likely go into greater detail about it later. The city provides the exercise areas for free in Australia. They are maintained to an extremely high standard. They are perfect! Yet if you go just about anywhere in this country and look around literally 90% of the people are overweight. I thought i could stand to lose a few more kg until i came here. Now, no matter where I go I am one of the most in shape people in the area.

I know it is probably the food, or perhaps it is the weather (not hot enough to sweat) or perhaps the "work all the time" culture that keeps em fat over here. I dunno, that is another story.

For now I just know that it has now become my life's objective to find a place where it is far less hot than southern Thailand. Something like where a lot of the year it can be 75 degrees F 26 degree C during the day for most of the year. Perhaps I am dreaming. Queensland is like that, but it is too expensive here.

If you know a place like that in a cheaper country i would love to hear about it!

Sort:  

The east coast of the Adriatic might be a good choice.

Regular exercise is the best way to stay healthy, that's cool that you wrote a blog on it moreover if you are talking about a place with 26 degrees temp. you may come at North India's Himachal Pradesh to live in as it is cheaper in many ways moreover with beautiful view but only if you agree to live on hilly area. keep up with good content.

Ohhh wao 108 to 88,Very good efford,you are absolutely right,Exercise is more important in our health,Exercise maintain your body perfect,and your health is to good with exercise,and your looking so attractive,Fat persons looking not good,I m from pakistan,and Pakistan is too hot country,thanks for sharing this great post,

I have noticed that the best way to learn with fitness it to experience it, everyone is different and what works for one person may not work for another.

I have to agree with you too, when it's humid it really affects my performance. I struggle when it's really humid.

Amazing....108 kg to 88 kg. I want to exercise and diet.But i am food lover man.Dieting is very difficult for me.Please help me. ....@gooddream

give me more information. I will help if i can

I guess Thailand humidity is very high, so the temperatures there FEEL way worse than what they are, because the humidity prevents you sweating to cool down.

I also lost a lot of weight, but I mostly did it by eating less, rather than exercising. It is very hard to keep the diet regime going, because of temptation, but I'm just about managing.

I know you were thinking of Vietnam previously as a possibility, and I think that is definitely cooler than Thailand, especially in higher areas, but maybe you don't want to be remote like that.

I hope you find a new home soon. Wandering the earth like Caine, in "Kung Fu," must be hard for you.

And of course, you gotta keep an eye on rabies laws in various places, because some places, like Britain for example, will force animals into quarantine for 6 months in some cases.

Enjoy your break in Oz, and good luck. :)

I'm not a trainer, doctor or nutritionist
but I've done sports all my life
belonged to the state selection in martial arts
then I was an open water swimmer
and I am currently windsurfer
it fascinates me to go to the gym every day and feed myself in a healthy way, although when I have to share with my friends the food is not so healthy! lolololol!
IMG-20180426-WA0029.jpg

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

@gooddream thanks for sharing us this tips. I always like your post. You always inspired me. Thanks friend.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01