You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You don't need an expensive bike for fitness

in #fitness5 years ago

your great story has such a tragic ending. :(

You are clearly know much more than I do but you bring up a very good point. Essentially the derailleur and everything involved with it is the most important part of the bike. Sometimes people don't even pay attention to this, just the name on the frame.

At $250 I can admit that my gear setup is less than perfect and wish it was a bit nicer, however, since i don't ride competitively and i am 95% on road, it works just fine for me.

I don't think i will upgrade my bike until a good deal comes up on a second hand sale for now.

Sort:  

Oh, also the lower shimano parts are great. It completely depends how hard you will let the bike work for you. If you use it mostly on the road, they will be great. Although i would choose either a real race bike or would go for a single speed, that saves you a lot of money for one of the most important and expensive parts. No more derrailleurs. Maybe just keep the front one and thats not the expensive one.

I thought i needed the XTR stuff, because i was going to take it to the beach and the woods. Rough terrain. Well XT would be good enough,and i think even cheaper ones would survive me.
Its mostly marketing what we fall for

I've been real happy with my hybrid tires although a vast majority of my riding is on-road. I just need to find some tougher inner-tubes though. I think having a single speed would drive me a bit nuts as I actually enjoy hitting the high speeds but yes... this would dramatically lower the price of the bike as I am quite certain the ONLY piece of semi-expensive equipment on my rig is the derailleur :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67720.63
ETH 3807.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68