Initial Impressions - Fitbit Ionic

in #fitness6 years ago

As those of you regular readers are aware, I'm going to slowly, but surely continue on a path back to healthiness, fitness, and being motivated. Yesterday, after finishing work, I wondered down to my local electronics emporium, with a slight limp in my left leg, due to the ongoing muscle strain and tendon issues that have been ongoing.

20180511_224950.jpg

I arrived in search of a Smart Watch, I walked away, after a quick google and a "oooh, that's cheap" moment, with a Fitbit Ionic. A Fitbit Ionic which I've now spent the better part of the last few hours trying to function with its advertised features.

First

  • A firmware update that completed on the watch, but the phone (a Note 8) thought that it was still ongoing
  • A factory reset after the device failed to connect via bluetooth to the very same phone (Note 8)
  • When finally connected, not snycing at regular intervals as it says on the box.

Second

  • None of my Australian banking institutions supporting the built in tap and go functionality on the wrist mounted torture device (despite the cards, and account types approved matching on the list)
  • A poor selection of support on the forum for... the third

Third

  • The Fitbit Ionic's main selling point is the ability to store music on the watch itself, so you can go for a run, or do your gym workouts with your phone well out of the way.
  • The app for Windows (because you can't sync music from your phone straight to the watch)
  • Doesn't Work without being loaded from the Windows App Store
  • Doesn't work when on the same wifi network as the watch is connected to (yes, the watch has wifi as well as bluetooth)

Never before have I been so frustrated by the 'basic software' included with a device in order to get its core functionality operating.

The build quality, and comfort of the device are pretty nice, but a device can only be as good as the software that it runs, and so far, my software experience is beyond woeful. I don't even know how to code, but if I did, I'm not sure I couldn't code a more frustrating user experience.

Sort:  

Oh man, I feel your pain, I have a fitbit ionic. I love if the fitness tracker, but it's a bitch to actually get it to sync on demand, and my data just kinda shows up at random.
I do love that it's waterproof though.

Fitness Trackers are so popular nowadays.....everyone is taking better care of their health and well-being =)

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73