Enclasping MUAY THAI: How my life & weight changed.

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

C353E95A-BDB1-453D-BC85-D60B446D924B.jpeg

Allow me to share this experience of mine for many years that I have done (until now) and it has changed me, not only physically but emotionally and mentally. Way back 2014, I was this person who ate a lot and not doing some physical activities. More than 8 hours of working as I sat on the chair the whole time while teaching my students online, it wasn’t an easy job and if the clock hit late at night, became so stressed and the only stress reliever that I could ever think was to eat and eat and eat, lots of food including a lot of rice, chocolates, junkfoods and sodas, too much calories and would gain my weight a lot. That was the time my weight gained so much. There you go guys, eating is love and life right? Yes, I was big at that time. I lost my confidence and I wanted to do something about it straightaway. Well I almost hated myself at that time but couldn’t because I know there’s a way for me to lose but at that moment, I kept on eating.

C82F2784-AD87-4BB4-AB4B-BCF89C4B0795.jpeg
(Miss Ellen, I call her the Great Elleyna! She’s so strong.)

A co-worker of mine invited me to go with her and introduced her friend also, a coach for this good sport. I was thinking, maybe she invited me back then because she could feel that I was struggling on my weight. I did think this would help me. Meet Miss Ellen, she’s the reason and the one who dragged me into this sport. We’ve been friends since 2012, because of this sport, we hangout everyweek. She’s into many sports, taekwando, scuba diving and the one that changed my weight and life, muay thai or kickboxing in english, isn’t she strong?

391773E8-7D08-4C47-A95C-E8653923242C.jpeg

In Wikipedia as explained, MUAY THAI is a combat sport of Thailand that uses stand-up striking and along with various clinching techniques. (Kicking and hitting) This physical and mental discipline which includes combat on shins is known as "the art of eight limbs" because it is characterized by the combined use of fists, elbows, knees, shins, being associated with a good physical preparation that makes a full-contact fighter very efficient.

A142FC06-235A-4392-A89D-BD3B66B85A4D.jpeg
8C82463B-7E2F-48D6-AEAC-898BA56F48B6.jpeg

As for me, it is totally an intense workout and a very good sport because not only you can lose weight, to be fit but also how to do self-defense (if someone attacks you). There is discipline in this sport, actually in all sports because of the trainings, following instructions and how to execute the exact moves or movements when you hit or kick. Take note, this is for fitness and defense, not to compete (join a competition) or fight with others.

2AF9B9B2-C3F9-4AEE-82ED-EE51CBD7BD84.jpeg

Meet Sir Frans, he is a Dutch and a coach in Muay Thai Cebu, he has been coaching/teaching muaythai for so many years now. He is the only coach who teaches us in the gym but he is in control with all the students, putting so much effort in teaching and of course students will learn something at the end of the session. He teaches step by step in executing the moves like “jab”, “hook”, kicks”, “knee & elbow strikes” and so on. It is really good also to know how to defend yourself when someone attacks you, and not only that it can benefit you, to be healthy and fit. A very good place to be there, they have lots of equipments for warm-up exercises and there are many punching/kicking bags, also you can choose the pure heavy bags if you want to. :)

Started muaythai in the year2014, did it twice or thrice a week, after 3 months, I could see the result that I lost weight a little and my feeling was lighter, comfortable a bit and not out of breath when I walked up to the stairs, too hard for me. And after a year I did once a week if I have time plus not only doing muaythai but also, Went for jogging and eat healthy food. If I eat a lot, I always drink lots of water too. It can help you really. Just water theraphy and eat less for some days.

E30DAB65-E228-4BCA-A477-708AA9F1C887.jpeg

This picture is the “after&before”(before&after) photo. I couldn’t believe that was me before but because of willingness to do it, it was an achievement for me. Muaythai helped me a lot, physically because I lost weight, mentally because I learned to be wiser and diaciplined myself, emotionally because I became stronger (in some things which I couldn’t deal with before). Be happy and embrace your life of what you have become (in good ways).

6F48BB22-7410-4761-BADB-592E147DF2DD.jpeg
If you are interested to do Muay Thai/Kickboxing, here are the details guys.

SHEDULE:
Monday to Friday
6pm-8pm session
8pm-10pm session

Saturday:
4pm-6pm session
6pm-8pm session

They accept walk-in (P200)and also the monthly session(I guess P1200 or 1300)
LOCATED at CJRS BUILDING, IT PARK.

Sharing an inspirational quote that I got from www.livebetter.org.uk.

“FITNESS IS NOT ABOUT BEING BETTER THAN SOMEONE ELSE... IT’S ABOUT BEING BETTER THAN YOU USED TO BE”.

So be you and be well.

Thank you guys for reading.
Till next time.

6F407E63-6529-40AA-B5C3-9F69A57DF9B8.jpeg

Sort:  

...maam @iamqueenlevita pang curie kaau imuhh post maam...hahhaha well anyways good job maam keep physically fit . 😇😇😇

@thian2817, thanks for reading and appreciating. bitaw just sharing my experience lang. how about you? Any fitness experience? Hehe 🤗 hope to see you in the next meet-ups....

...i had an experience maam,but nindot pa kaau sa sinugdanan naning pa kaau ko but after how many days kapoy man maam uie...hahhahah...hope to see you again maam...

@thian2817, yes it was hard for me too but it did not stop me because i wanted to be fit jud hhehehe kapoy jud bitaw .... agree

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66