What I Did When I Got Into a Bike Accident

in #fitness5 years ago

viber_image_2019-07-12_11-13-37.jpg

All about bikes with Ms. Julie


Learning to ride was tough.

I learned to ride a bike when I was on the first grade. My father bought my older brother a bike with training wheels. When he began riding it without the support, I got really jealous. I wanted to learn how to ride it as well. So I often borrowed it from my brother asking him to teach me. And if he doesn't, I fought him for it.

Falling on your first try was normal but being able to get your balance after a few tries was amazing! It made me feel like a genius. I wasn't really scared to get scratched. I wore them like battle scars. I didn't know that scars don't look good on a girl. I actually didn't care.

Learning to ride in the city is scary.

I'm used to riding a bicycle and even a motorcycle in the province. [whispers](I don't have my driver's license, yet.) Riding your bike in an island is definitely easy. There are no traffic, people are courteous and it's safe.

However, riding your bike in the city is the complete opposite. The traffic is horrible, most people are rude and it's totally dangerous. My heart almost exploded on my first ride in the city. I'm a complete amateur.

30705962_2029915523704649_5550910428789342208_n.jpg

Restop at MOA to admire the sunset

My childhood friend, Jason persuaded me to join him and borrowed a bike from another friend for me. He did a good job convincing me because I'm not allowed to bike in the metro so I don't own one. We rode from home to Luneta Park to Manila Bay to the Mall of Asia. We took the service road on the way back to avoid the huge trucks in the high way. As much as I was scared to death, I was also thrilled so I continued to join Jason in a few rides.

Biking 101

52669953_322472991953361_7294270381886537728_n.jpg

Me and my childhood friend, Jason

When I joined the Globe Adventure Club earlier this year, one of the activities is Biking 101. They encouraged the participants to join the activity even if they don't own a bike. I was already thinking to buy my own bicycle but I wanted to make sure that I would be capable in riding in the city. Therefore, I decided to borrow a bike from a friend.

Biking 101 was taught by Ms. Julie and the session was scheduled after work; thus, I decided to ride my bike to the office. I gathered my courage to ride solo and went as early as I can to avoid the traffic. My moving time was 47 minutes and 16 seconds on a distance of 9.94 kilometers.


My Strava ride from (home) Manila City to (office) Mandaluyong City

I invited Jason to join us in our Biking 101 so he went to my office. We rode together to Bonifacio Global City for the session. Ms. Julie discussed the parts of bike, types of bike and tips on how to choose your own bike when you decided to buy. I actually learned a lot.


Our Strava ride from Mandaluyong to Taguig

After the discussion, we rode around the BGC, practicing the hand signals, bikers use on rides.

That day only, I rode more than 30 km! PROUD!


Our Strava ride from Taguig to Manila

Unlucky or lucky: My Biking Accidents

Biking 101 was just the beginning. A bike activity was set and I signed up. I was all prepared that night but I got a flat tire in the morning. I thought I won't be able to join them. Luckily, a vulcanizing shop was open at 8 am and the TL gave me the permission to still go as soon as I'm done. I got my bike fixed in no time. I was surely late because the call time was 6:30 am but I caught up with the guys at almost 9 in the morning. They were already biking at the Heroes Bike Trail in Bayani Road Taguig.

Going to the location wasn't easy and I, myself couldn't believe the guts I had that day. Everyone in Metro Manila probably knows how difficult it is to drive in EDSA and how many vehicles pass there everyday. They would also know how monstrous the trucks that run in Osmeña Highway. I took both routes if you believe it or not and got to the Heroes Bike Trail in one piece. I guess, I'm not unlucky.

Until...

I started taking the trail with the guys. It was my first time on a bike trail and everything was going smooth till it wasn't. I've been driving motorcycles for a long time and my instincts kicked in when I faced an uphill. I changed gears as soon as I ascended but it was a wrong move. No biker should do that. They told me afterwards that I should change gear way, way before I move up. So, I couldn't pedal anymore. It's as if my bike froze. I fell on my bike and rolled at the steep side of the road. I rolled like a toy, three times.

Fortunately, I was able to grip the plants around to stop myself from falling to my death but I already died in shame because the guys were lined up at my back and saw the whole thing. They tried to help me but most of them already burst in laughter. Somebody grabbed my bike, helped me to stand up but I was already on my feet. I got no scratches because I was wrapped up in my jacket. No abrasions on my knees either. Still, luck me. (Maybe, I'm just thick-skinned.) It was really funny!

viber_image_2019-07-12_11-13-42.jpg

Attendance photo with GAC


Tips on choosing a bicycle:

  1. Know where you'll use your bike. Is it for long rides? Trail biking? If you have no idea what you're gonna use it for and just like a bike for everyday use, buy a mountain bike.
  2. Choose a bike's frame that fits your body build. You should be able to stand without the top tube hitting your groin.
  3. The control should not be too far or too near from the saddle. It should fit your body length to make sure you'll ride comfortably.
  4. Consider your budget in buying. You can buy quality bikes for Php 15,000 to P 20,000 but if you want better, lighter and/or customized bikes, the price is way higher than that.

Common parts of a Bike


Source

Sort:  

Nice article, the accidents are here for us to get some experience and maybe to care more about ourselves. If we get through them without any major injury of course.

You're right. What doesn't kill us makes us stronger, right? Thank you for reading my post @ritxi!

Biking with friends is a great experience, this reminds me of my chilhood friends in my province....

Indeed. Biking is also a way to make friends! I hope I see you on the road, sometime.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 133 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Wow @krizia I'm happy you didn't get hurt!

Thank you @steem-net-ph. I'm happy I didn't get hurt, too!

Congratulations @krizia! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55