THE 2 DIETS THAT WILL GET YOU SHREDDED FOR 2018 SUMMER

in #fitness6 years ago
Hello guys, we all know winter season is about to end and we've added up some unwanted weight 😶. That being said, I'm here to help you with my methods and what I've been learning in my nutrition and fitness journey!
Although I have some of the worst eating behaviours, I still managed to lose a lot of fat and gain some muscle in the same time. I studied this nutrition and fitness field for a lot in the last 1 and a half years, so let me give you a hand of help.

As I never like to speak without any background I will post some pics of my transformations and my current fitness shape. I'm not an example for you guys as in the last months I've literally BINGED on overeating all sort of crappy food from daily Kentucky Fried Kitchen to late night double icecream cakes.


this is a transformation in a timeframe of 9months


this is my current stage - I went full bear mode


Ok, before we jump up onto the main topic of this post, let me tell you a few things. In the last months I ve been eating huge, I had days with 5000-6000 calories or even more and mostly SHIT FOOD. It's interesting I still don't gain that much fat and it's almost impossible for me to get in the stage I ve been long time before.

So, tell us the secret.

Well, for every kg of muscle that you build your body will burn calories. It's incredible and actually helps a lot. Also, the difference from before and now is that I go to gym 2-3 times a week and I also burn calories there. I think after such a transformation is nearly impossible to ever get to a 25% body fat... that's just my 2 cents though.

LET'S JUMP TO THE DIEEEEEEEEEETS!!!


First thing you gotta know about diets is that everything summs up, more or less, to CALORIES IN 🍕 vs CALORIES OUT🔥. Basically, if you eat less calories than what you actually burn therefore your body will start burning fat. The human bodies burn calories average ~2000 calories just by maintaing our bodies and organs. These numbers differ a lot from person to person ( depending on how much we weight, how different our hormons and bodies are etc. )


So, that being said, first thing you gotta do is counting your calories. I know it hurts a lot but that's it. As a mark you should start with 11 * your desired weight ( in pounds ). Let me exemplify, if you weight 220 lbs and your goal weight is 180 lbs, therefore the calories you should set is 180 * 11 ≈ 2000 calories. You should find a convertor for your bodyweight from kg to pounds in 2 seconds on google, so you can setup your calories.

1 - KETOGENIC DIET

Ketogenic diet is a diet where you basically eat mostly fats. The macronutrients for this diet are 75-80% fats, 5% NET carbohydrates and 15-20% protein. This diet lowers your insulin levels by a lot and helps you to sustain a really easy lifestyle and diet because, once you've settled in and got into ketosis ( this is how the state that you will get into after eating like this for more days is called ), you will never be hungry again.

This diet is really good for more reasons. One of them is that you won't feel the hungryness anymore as most of the foods you are eating will be fats which are really really nourishing. The other advantage is that you won't crave carbohydrates, sweeets or any type of food anymore. Not that much that you won't be able to control it at least!

NET carbohydrates = Carbohydrates - Fiber // this is how you should make the math!
source

I will go in depth in a future post about Ketogenic diet, so stay tuned in! But, if you think this diet is unhealthy or stuff like that just check that photo! You will get to it foods like : spinach, brocolli, salmon, eggs ( which are really nutritive ) and a lot more!


2 - INTERMITTENT FASTING FLEXIBLE DIET

Although intermittent fasting is not a diet this is how I'd like to call it. Basically, the macronutrients for this diet are 30% fats, 30% protein and 40% carbohydrates. Basically, to one extent, you can ignore this macronutrients percents if you just hit 1g of protein / pound of weight. Feel free to be flexible with the fats and carbohydrates afterwards.

What I usually do in this diet is that I fast in the morning , drinking black coffee and water, while eating in 6-8 hours windows only 2 or 3 meals. Usually, I either have 1 really big meal and 1 smaller ones + some snacks, or just 2 decent semi-big meals.
Fasting has proven to decrease insulin levels and help the hormons, so while you fast basically your body is feeling really good and you actually burn a lot of fat. It will take a few days to accomodate, but in time you will be able to decrease your eating window time with small daily steps.

Although I call it flexible and you probably can eat more "messy" foods like french fries and still lose fat, I choose to stay healthy and equilibrated. I still eat healthy foods like vegetables, rice and fruits, but it feels good to know that you can fit your nutrition with some less quality junk food without deviating from the diet. We all know how hard is to keep ourselves engaged socially while dieting, Intermittent fasting helps a lot in this case.


Ok, now what you gotta do is choose one of the diets, document really well about them and then install an app like MyFitnessPal in order to track your progress. All you have to do is add the calories you've made the math for losing weight and the macronutrients specifics to the diet.

You will need a few months to educate yourself about which food has X amount of protein,carbs and fats but it will help you a lot in taking decisions in the future. You will discover a lot of nice foods to eat and the journey will become really enjoyable, I bet it will.


I will go in depth with both of these diets and approaches in the future. Tell me what you would want to hear from me next, I will keep you updated with my progress as I've also started my way onto a fat lossing journey. Join me and let's win this one, STEEMIANS!

Sort:  

Thank you for collaborating with me to promote this post as explained at https://steemit.com/steemit/@jerrybanfield/10-ways-to-fund-a-steem-growth-project.

Great physique brother! And very informative post. I love intermittent fasting for so many reasons. One being what you mentioned - flexibility! I also like to feast at night while staying shredded ;). Keep up the posts

Thank you, let's see what future will bring me as Im starting to cut now.

@octavianfeodot getting ripped! And reminds me of the fact that I should start doing a bit more sports myself. I was never really the diet type, all this counting of calories and nutrients... But the image of the food you posted and the possibility to discover new recipes/meals, make it sound and look very interesting. Probably I should give it a shot and spend some time on educating myself about nutrition. :) Thanks for this nice article @octavianfeodot - looking forward to your next post. Respect for your discipline with training and diet! Keep it up!

Thank you! I still have a lot to work now I'm starting shredding hard, I will keep you guys updated and hopefully my advice will help you in the future!

Huge fan of the intermittent fasting diet!For me,so far,is the best approach to get leaner and healthy 😊Great post!

poate ar fi trebuit sa scriu in romana comentariul asta:))

Intermittent fasting was awesome for me! especially when combined with Keto, it can have pretty fast results overall. Great article!

I feel the same but I took a break from keto as I got pretty bored from the food and I wanted to change. Thank you !

Great post! Consider to participate to one of the following contests!
Below is a list of some contests/giveaways on Steemit that you should definitely participate in.
The list isn't in any particular order and it isn't exhaustive.

1. Meme Challenge by
@fibra59 / https://steewit.com/@fibra59


A entertaining and popular contest to tickle your funny bones, it is sponsored by several Steemians and it'll certainly put you under the meme spotlight.
Tag - memechallenge

2. Open Mic Week by
luzcypher / https://steewit.com/@luzcypher
/
pfunk / https://steewit.com/pfunk


This contest will allow you to get your musical juices flowing. Make a musical video and submit it now.
Tag - openmic

3. Wild and Strange Contest/Steem-Pocalypse by
papa-pepper / https://steewit.com/@papa-pepper


Two very interesting contests running into their 5th and 3rd seasons respectively, you don't want to miss grabbing a spot on the next edition.
Tag - wildnstrange / steem-pocalypse

4. STEEM Cup Series/Steemit Scramble by
ats-david / https://steewit.com/@ats-david


If you are a sport enthusiast or otherwise, don't miss out on participating in these sporting event related contests.
Check out the latest contest here.

5. Art Challenge by
aksinya / https://steewit.com/@aksinya


You don't need to be an artist to join. Just interpret an artwork that is posted in your own words.
Tag - artchallenge

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60