28km hilly run

in #fitness6 years ago

Did I say I'm preparing to run a marathon? There's a joke that says "how do you know when someone has run a marathon?" "Don't worry, they'll tell you!"

I had signed up to this 28km race on the weekend months ago. I intended to use it as a tester for the Gold Coast Marathon in 3 weeks. Oh and what a tester it was!

FB_IMG_1528793950429.jpg

Any time you run more than 20k it's tough! But usually I do my longer runs on flat terrain. But this race was hilly, hilly, hilly...

IMG_20180612_185957.jpg

I look at the photos from the event, and I'm not happy with how big I am the moment... But on the other hand, I'm pretty proud to have run 28 hilly kilometres!

FB_IMG_1528793519328.jpg

This was me finishing... I still look kinda happy. So I think I'm pretty right for the Gold Coast Marathon. I'd like to be 10kg lighter but with 3 weeks left I'm better off focusing on keeping whatever fitness I have and getting the legs ready.

What I love about these events is finding new friends to run with! Somehow people bond over shared pain....this was my new mate Mike. He was running his 2nd marathon in a month, and was struggling so we ran together for about 5k till I was finishing my 28.

FB_IMG_1528793437947.jpg

Anyhoo, fingers crossed I get across the line in 3 weeks time after 42.2km!

Sort:  

Yey you look soooo happy and carefree which in itself is inspiring :D if you can do the 28k one you can nail the 42k one, it’s less than twice

Cheers! I've run a 35k in training too.... So I think I'm good... Always could be better, right? But I'll get it done

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by positiveninja from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88