No Days Off

in #fitness6 years ago

wake-up.jpg

No Days Off

Last night while I laid in bed struggling to sleep and anxious for today to arrive, I realized something which I believe might be the key to my weight loss. Days off are the worst. Let me clear this up before it gets misinterpreted, by now I believe is common knowledge that the human body needs rest in order to recuperate after harsh activity and to reach peak performance, however, there is such thing as taking a break too soon.

Many time, I have started to go the gym and the usual week goes by because you always start on Monday, and then Saturday and Sunday arrive and even though I'm energized and ready to keep going I have forced myself to take a rest day or two because my body "needs it". This "well-deserved break" later hindering my journey. After all, I read in forums and magazines that is how you are supposed to schedule your week. What magazines forgot to include, or maybe just the ones I read, is that after five days of working out, your body might not need a rest day yet.

I came to this realization last night while thinking about the contestants on the now-canceled tv show The Biggest Loser by NBC. The used to arrive at a house with a gym, trainers, and nutritionists and just get to work. The show which I believe used to run for 14 weeks never show them taking a rest day, so if this group of extremely overweight people could work out for around three months straight, why could not I do it.

The more I thought about the more it made sense to me. All I know, about creating habits, tells me that in order to create one, once you start an action, one must not stop until it becomes engraved in the mind and hence becomes part of our routine. This is a mistake I have been executing for years. Taking a break so soon after starting to work out is actually been killing the momentum I have been creating. Understanding this concept makes me feel like I secured a strike in the right direction.

Please let me know what you think, is this something you already knew or might be my hypothesis is wrong, I would love to hear your opinion.

Nutrition

The following is my food diary for the day. I consider today a success kept my calories within 2010 and did not feel as hungry.

1.PNG

2.PNG

Workout

So, today was my first day back at the gym. I did 45 minutes of cardio on the elliptical machines. I had to stop three times in order to finish. I just felt drained, I supposed my energy level might have been crashing because of the red bull I had before the workout, but the point is I was struggling. I think you get out shape way faster than you can get into shape. Last month, I was doing the same workout at once without breaks and sometimes without even hydrate.

If you got here thank you for reading and if you are interested in my journey don't forget to come back tomorrow for a new blog.

If anyone wishes to message me in private I'm on Discord & Instagram as @Raybilson

Sort:  

This got shot down on day 3 by a snowstorm!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59