Today's Superset Challenge: Sumo Stance Exercises

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

When I train at the gym, I like to do Supersets.

What are Supersets? Well, they are 2 back-to-back exercises that you perform to complete 1 set. Sometimes the exercises can be unrelated, but I find that when you combine 2 different exercises that trigger the SAME muscle group, you get better results!

All of my (soon to be available) workout programs are designed around Supersets and I can't wait for you to experience my workout style!

Until I am ready to launch, I'll just share with you a daily superset just so you can see what it looks like when I go to the gym AND what my workout plans will look like too!

The first Superset that I think I'll share with you all are designed around a "Sumo" stance. A Sumo stance is when you plant your feet MUCH wider than hip width apart and turn your toes outward. The Sumo stance is typically used when doing squats but I did them a little differently today...

Here is my Superset with a SUMO DEADLIFT immediately followed by SUMO KETTLE BELL SWINGS....

Picture_20180119_190131259.jpg

One) Start with your feet placed much wider than hip width apart and toes pointed outward. Squat down and grasp the barbell with a wide grip

Picture_20180119_190115289.jpg

Two) Use your LEGS when you lift your body up to standing position and squeeze your glutes when you get to the top. Slowly squat down to lower the bar to the floor. Gently tap the plates to the floor and power back up for your next rep. Try not to REST the plates down on the floor all the way -- you just want to tap.

Picture_20180119_190052956.jpg

Three) After you finish your first set of Sumo Deadlifts, then immediately start your Sumo Kettle Bell Swings... Start again with your feet placed much wider than hip width apart and your toes pointed outwards. Then squat down and swing the kettle bell forwards ( do not go higher then shoulder height).

Picture_20180119_190008841.jpg

Four) Use the momentum of the swing to continue each rep.

Picture_20180119_190031511.jpg

This Superset would obviously be best on a leg day as it will work your Quads (Mostly inner), Glutes, and even your Hammies. I definitely suggest doing this Superset FIRST before you do any other exercises as they are both heavy compound movements and will take all your initial strength to perform them effectively and safely.

Try for: 3 Sets of 5-8 Reps with the Deadlifts, 3 Sets of 12-15 Reps with the Kettle Bell Swings

If you have any questions, just let me know! Looking forward to sharing my next superset with you tomorrow!

Sort:  

Thank you for all the great information and visuals. Looks like a great workout. Totally going to give it a try. Can't wait for your next post.

Thank you so much! You'll definitely work up a sweat with this one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65345.02
ETH 2944.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76