What motivates you to move?

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

Workouts. We all have a different taste for what is enjoyable. I for instance, never was into sports while growing up. I was surrounded by musicians and artists and I kept busy dancing and acting with my sister. As I got older I remember trying to play sports with my friends. Quite honestly it was just to look cool and tough. I always liked looking tough and not like a pretty delicate flower.

I tried basketball, I really did not enjoy people bumping into me, and the pressure that I felt if I didn't do things right, I felt like all eyes were on me and I'd disappoint everyone if I ever touched the ball. So I ran along with everyone but avoided the spotlight.
Running is something I.... H-A-T-E. My heart goes up to my throat, there's pressure everywhere, and it feels to me like the point of it is to pretend that I'm in danger and I have no out until I reach my destination, no matter how exhausted I am in the way. running... ugh...

I tried Crossfit for 6 months! Talk about a love-hate relationship!! I always had a battle in my head on the way to the gym. Trying to find a good excuse to skip it. But I'd go anyways because....... your body reacts to it pretty quickly, and I got very happy with my new found muscles!. 1 hour of pain and constant thoughts of hatred followed by a protein shake and flex in the mirror.... then a smile. Then I started walking like a bro, with my chest puffed and wide arms. haha.

One day while doing crossfit, I went to an Acroyoga workshop. I remember seeing the teachers (in what I now know to be in a very basic pose) and being mind blown! It was so pretty! and SO hard to do! and the kicker? Hard didn't mean awful! I was LAGHING the whole time! I was super challenged, mesmerized by the incredible things people were doing and trusting I could do.

Here's the FIRST picture of me doing the most basic pose ever. I like seeing my super excited face. I like remembering what it was to feel something for the first time.

IMG_7414.PNG

My relationship with acroyoga has shifted my idea of what motivates me. I like new. I get bored easily. I enjoy socializing and laughing while doing tricks and perfecting them, and there is always a next level. Acro has this for me. I never feel like "I'm going to work out". I guess that's why we call it "play", you are playing the whole time, and then one day boom! You're carrying other humans and you feel strong, and you feel dependable, and you know that you can trust the people you're playing with. You develop communication and social skills, strength, flexibility, and quite honestly... I just want to do it all the time.

This is of course my take on what I have experienced. I think this is the first time that I was able to show myself what I can accomplish by being consistent. Once I got good at it I started thinking I have so much potential on other areas on my life. Consistent practice is the key. This is the reason why I like Acroyoga over other kinds of physical activity.

What kind of physical activity do you prefer, and why?

0pzfiig7xd9kx76p685.png

Sort:  

Acro is so much fun! I feel like acro takes so much of what I love and condenses it into one thing! I don't really like to work out but I love to have fun so acro is a great way to get stronger while really enjoying yourself. Same with slacklining and rock climbing, both kind of scare me so it's a cool way to face fear, develop a skill, and have fun. I think there needs to be more things in life like this. Fun forever!

FUN FOREVER!!!

hi! Entrenar es una de las cosas que hago para divertirme, que forma parte de las personas y es increíble ver como el entrenamiento da buenos resultado de poder lograr grandes trucos y la confianza que implica hacerlo con otra persona es grande buen trabajo @val.halla

street workourt, calestenia!

Climbing! I like the pink hair!

Oh I started climbing around October, It IS a lot of fun. I think it has some of the same basic concepts for me. social, concentration, trust in yourself in others, a constant new challenge! It's like solving puzzles while feeling every part of your body working in sync to accomplish something!

I couldn't have said it better myself. I may have to quote you in a post lol

Sounds fun...

A wonderful display of skill there. Good job @val.halla

My motivation to move is only Love!
Is love missing
There is no reason to move

Great pics

UmMmM playing with my friends! :) Miss ya!

Miss ya!! How's the trip so far?????

My turn is coming the class will appear soon 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57