HOW TO FIX YOUR POSTURE: kyphosis (slouched shoulders) - lordosis (excess curve of the low spine)

in #fitness7 years ago

vince 5.png
Having good postural alignment is more important than just the aesthetics aspect. Of course having perfect posture will make you look more confident and therefore attractive. However, the aches and pains you may be experiencing could be related to muscular imbalances associated with poor posture. Furthermore, if you aren't experiencing any aches and pains right now, you might experience them later on in life if you allow them to become worse. Poor posture can lead to increased wear and tear due to the inefficient transfer of force through out the body.

In this article I will focus on the postural fault of kyphosis - lordosis, which is when a person's shoulders are slouched forward (kyphosis), accompanied by an excess curve in the Lumbar spine (lordosis).

Understanding kyphosis - lordosis

It's important to understand that poor posture is caused by muscular imbalances and not vice versa. That means it can be improved with enough effort and dedication. The imbalanced muscles for kyphosis - lordosis are:

Short (tight) muscles
hip flexors
low back
chest
anterior deltoids
upper trapezius.
Quadriceps
These muscles need to be released/stretched.

Long (loose) muscles
hamstrings
glutes
abs
rhomboids.
These muscles need to be activated and strengthened.

What can I do to help fix my posture?

One of the best ways to deal with short muscles is with a foam roller. By applying self myofascial release techniques, the short muscles will relax and lengthen. Here are a few exercises you can do with a foam roller to help out with kyphosis-lordisis, perform these 4 times a week, for 2 minutes each:
vince 1.png
Releases the hip flexors ^
vince 2.png
Releases the lower back ^
vince 3.png
Activates upper back; releases the chest, anterior deltoids and trapezius ^vince 4.png
Releases the quadriceps ^

For the long muscles, you want to perform resistance exercises that target them, with isolation exercises being the best. Some examples are:
vince 6.png
Seated Rows ^
vince 7.png
Plank ^
vince 8.png
Glute kickbacks ^
vince 9.png
Hamstring curls ^

The key is repetition, focus on high reps and low weights. This is because muscular imbalances are due to our everyday habits. A lot of people tend to sit down slouched most of the day causing the fascia to stiffen in that position. Therefore, to counteract postural faults, a lot of repetition is needed and you need to be mindful of how you sit and stand. Try these exercises 4 times a week, for 4 sets until failure (meaning until you can't do anymore)

If you found this post useful, I would appreciate if you please upvoted or resteemed this. Thanks!

Sort:  

Great post, super informative. I write most of my Steemit posts on a bench so needless to say my back needs some lov'n...

@vincefitness
I've been needing to work on my posture so thanks for sharing this informative post with us! Followed and upvoted! :)

Thank you, I'm glad you liked my post :)

@vincefitness
You're welcome, my friend!

Helpful read! Will definitely follow your instructions. I'm looking to start posting about my D.O. school journey starting in July. Follow me back if you please!

Great info on releasing hip flexors...I need this!

Man, I slouch waaay too much. I dont wanna be one of those old peeps who are forever doomed to look down :(

Agreed! Just follow my tips that I post and you should be fine :)

oh yea that body roller thing my sister just got one of those my posture is great when i stand i have to work on sitting up straighter...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67743.75
ETH 3805.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53