An Inevitable Jog - 100 Reps - Day 78 - 6/8/18

in #fitnesschallenge6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0264scaled.JPG

Day 78 completing the #fitnesschallenge by @steemmatt! It was an exhausting day while I tried to recoop from my early morning jog, I strongly encourage you to join! I would not have been able to make that jog if I hadn't started exercising!

So this morning (more like last night) around 1:30 am I got a call to get a customer from the bar. "No big deal" I thought, as I called up my follow driver to go pick him up. Only to come to the realization that he'd fallen asleep. While it was expected because he's been sick all week, I was forced to call my backup driver. Now he's not always available as he drives his own cab so I have to take what I can get. He met me just on time as I dropped the customer off at their house but I then had a second call to get at the same bar. Since he has his own calls to get, I just had him drop me off. As I dropped my second customer off I realized that my house was on one side of town, I was on another, and my car was on a third and with my back up driver busy I was forced to make a choice. Either jog back to my house, and wait for a ride or jog back to my car.

  • Longest streak: 22 days
  • Last Streak: 13 days
  • Current Streak: 16 days
  • Skipped Days: 9

The Challenge:

At least 100 honest reps of exercise every day. No excuses. No bullsh*t. Just actions, positivity, and results. Only post AFTER your reps are done. Always support each other. (Currently on Pause, find out why with a much needed decision to pause the challenge for a few days.

Find a challenge post here with the old rules and conditions so you can get warmed up and ready for participation for when the new guidelines are released.

In the mean time

I also want to tell you about the #50squatchallenge and the #50pushupchallenge by @notorious562! 50 easy squats and pushups every day! I'm doing 50 squats daily now so I've decided to participate in that as well. So this is also my completion of both!

My Daily Challenge Completed.

6-8-18fitnesschallenge.JPG

As I debated on which direction to start jogging, I decided to google the distance. It was literally 5 miles to my house or 5 miles to my car. This unwanted inevitable 5 mile hike that just landed in my lap wasn't what I had expected, but I figured if I walk home I still have to find a ride to my car, and if I can make it home then I can make it to my car, so off in the direction of my car I went. It was a backroad that leads to the oil refinery that exploded a few weeks back. It was a long 2.5 mile stretch of dark road but I went for it anyways. Google maps told me that it was going to be a 1 hour and 40 minute walk back to my car. It was already 2:30 and I was not ok with getting hom at 4:30 in the morning so I immediately began to run. In my suit. Oh well. What made it so bad was the straight road I had to cover as I normally like to zig zag through the neighborhood when I jog.

It felt like it took forever. The whole time all I could think about was the dreaded 5 mile number that google showed me. It's one thing to plan a 5 mile jog, it's another to get stuck doing it when you least expect it, much less at 3 in the morning. The normal jog I take back to my car is only 1.5 miles so this was bad, but it only takes me 15 minutes to run those 1.5 miles. This gave me hope that I could get to my car within 45 minutes to an hour. As I approached the end of the long dark stretch of road and made it to the other side of town a police officer drove by and he stopped to look at me. We made eye contact and he was on his way. I guess I didn't look like a crack head, so it was nothing to see here folks.

By 3:06 AM I was already about 2 miles away and I noticed I was making great timing, even without my running shoes. It certainly made me happy that I've been exercising for the last 2 1/2 months or this 5 mile walk would have been absolute killer. I didn't even have a water bottle but I was motivated to get there. While I jogged as much as I could for the first 3 miles, the last 2 miles were a little different. It was more of a sprint until I ran out of breath and walked til I caught my breath. At this point I knew I was only about 15 minutes away from my car and 30 minutes away from home and I was right! I made it home by 3:36. After that jog, I was pumped all morning so I didn't even get to sleep til after noon. There was just no time for any reps today but it was a good jog over all.. My legs are tired, I'm tired and my body is definitely feeling it but I know I got a good cardio in for the day. So this was the story about how I ended up jogging 5 miles this morning so I had to take a "rest day". Of course, I am trying to ensure that my rest days include at least 100 reps, in this case, it was an exhaustive 5 mile jog!

5 Mile Jog

I'm only counting this as 100 reps but I guess if it took me an hour to run the 5 miles it can count for 200, at best.

Total rep count: 100

Yesterday's Reps

Squats, Pushups & Situps - 150

Cumulative Tally

16,700 Reps

Meals

Slept right through lunch and had what I call "Ghetto Mac N Cheese" -- Mac N Cheese with cut up hot dogs mixed in, with a little bit of ketchup. To be honest, especially considering some of the other food I post, this doesn't even look appealing even to me and I'm the one that ate it. There's just something wrong.
6-8-18din.JPG

All Pictures are taken by me with a Nikon D3400

Thanks for reading! Steem On! Join the #fitnesschallenge! I enjoy sharing my fitness routine with the Steemit community to encourage other Steemians to get in shape too. Remember, if you don't use it, you lose it!

My Motivation

Replacing my smoking habit with exercise! So after a good few months of not smoking I kind of picked it up again for like 2 months and now I've managed to stop again. So far I have been able to go 12 full days without cigarettes. It takes a lot to quit when everyone around me smokes cigarettes so I am proud of myself!

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

power-up.jpg

Sort:  

Oh yuck on that mac n cheese lol Sorry I know it's rude to say that about other people's food but man that's pretty just, no. haha
I enjoyed reading about your jog back to your car. Hard to believe you did it in a suit! I really dig that imagery though of going near the refinery in a suit that's something out of a book/story, very industrial background.
Did you think it went easier since you quit smoking? I'm sure that helped!

Hey that's ok about the food lol, I did mention that looking at the picture of my food didn't look appealing at all and I'm the one that ate it. My wife's kids showed this to me and I thought it looked gross, but then I tried it and it wasn't that bad. One reason I felt I might like it is because I prefer cheese with my hotdogs. It's very different though!

I'm sure the two or three refinery workers that saw me were like "Why is this guy walking in a suit?". Now that I think of it, it would be very picturesque to be in a suit walking with that industrial background. Gives me an idea!

I think it went much easier since I haven't been smoking. My lungs were able to handle it just fine! There is still time for them to heal themselves.

It's hard to refuse kids, I know! Plus they sometimes have good ideas. haha
You should have someone take some pics of you in your suit there for professional photos. Would look cool imo

I can have a friend do it with my camera, totally had that in mind

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94