Where the heck have I been?!

I'm aliiiive!

What's up everyone?
Holy smokes it's been awhile! Things have been so dang hectic over here I haven't even been able to think about blogging.

This is gonna be a quick update but rest assured I have been training, and life is good!
image315

Before we get to training..
You'll probably notice a few differences in the garage. I'm still not completely done with the whole upgrade but I'm getting there.
I wanted to film a time lapse and do it all in one day, but unfortunately some of the stuff I want had been/still are out of stock and I didn't really want boxes of equipment in the way of my training or cause hazards for Lola if she's out there with me, so I just started setting stuff up as it arrived.
image
image
It's comin along though.

Ok, so I believe the last we saw of me, my training wasn't going great haha, and I was actually not at all looking forward to trying prs.
Surprisingly, they went well. Bench stayed at 240, but it moved alot faster and smoother than previous so overall it's a win in my book.
Squat and deadlift went up another 5 lbs to 385 and 455, respectively.
Happy about that

I almost pulled 460 but as I neared lock out, my form suffered a bit. So rather than an ugly pull I just put it down and played it safe. I had already PR'd after all.


PR's

Today's training
So I'm trying two new things.
One) RPE based training. If you're unfamiliar I'll go into detail in a different post.
Two) Low bar squats.

Actually before I even mention today I gotta bring up Saturday. So, I did a quick workout that was barbell curls and kettlebell swings. It seemed easy enough only being a 45lb barbell but since I haven't done any sort of curling in at least 6 months, I was in for a rude awakening.

My biceps are STILL sore and won't go straight lol. Even loading the 45s on the bar for squats proved to be a challenge. So I did what most fools would and said, "Might as well kill my legs too!"

image


today's workout

So low bar squats are pretty self explanatory. The bar sits lower on your back. It's an adjustment to say the least, and it definitely played a role in today's heavy single being fairly "light". As the video shows, it definitely moved at an rpe 8 but it didn't feel quite as quick as it looked. Mainly due to not being at all used to the low bar position and feeling. Definitely gets your upper back tight as heck.

Ok I'm rambling hahah. I'm gonna end this her because it's gone longer than I expected, but I will be back to blogging. Probably only once a week or so when I can make the time, and it will be a brief overview of my training for the week.

I hope you all have a great day and have been hitting the weights as hard as ever!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59