You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Five Things I'm Doing to Help the Environment.

in #five4theplanet5 years ago (edited)

I really love this! The good thing about living in Germany is some of this stuff is already mandatory. It’s hard to buy cleaning chemicals and if you want a plastic bag, your going to have to pay a minimum of 15 cents per. My degree is in conservation biology and I can tell you a lot of the „green“ initiatives are just garbage. But all of these that you are doing are great steps that everyone can accomplish! I read this last night and had a discussion with my wife about it and the truth is we need to be better! Thanks for sharing these great tips!

Sort:  

When we were still in England, I noticed a lot of influence seemed to be coming from Germany on the side of removing the toxic stuff from household things, including foods. By the time we moved here, we were so used to naturally coloured foods that I thought I was looking at toilet cleaners when I walked into the cordial aisle at the supermarket! 😆

South Australia was actually the first state to introduce a ban on single use bags, shortly after we arrived. You now have to pay a minimum of 10c if you want one at the supermarket. Unfortunately, it isn't a huge deterrent to most, but there is certainly a drive to reuse them more now that value had been added to them. This year SA has announced a ban on all single use plastics is on its way. Must be the German influence from the early settlers. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70929.96
ETH 3846.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48