Hard Rain | Original Flash Fiction

in #flashfiction6 years ago

cristina-gottardi-462734-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Cristina Gottardi on Unsplash


The pouring rain didn't show a sign that it will stop soon. It's been a week. A cold rainy morning like this always gave me a reason to stay in bed for more few minutes. The earthy smell of wet soil, so fresh. But just like any other millions working class living in Jakarta, to sleep a few more minutes is not an option. I'm a good employee, I should go to the office, working, whatever happens.

The rain came with a big storm, with strong winds. My zinc roof rattled, so noisy as if it would fly away. I woke up, take a bath. There must be a leak in my roof, water drips fell on my shoulder. So cold. I finished my bath quickly, wear my best suite. I'm ready to go. No time for breakfast. I will spend a day working hard like a horse to pay the bills. Just like any ordinary working day.

"Jakarta is much fun when it rain, at least it's not hot as hell," I whispered to my self, encouraging my little heart for that dark grey morning.

Armed with an umbrella, as well as a parachute jacket, I go directly to the main street. Waiting for a city bus which goes straight to my office.

The storm was fierce. It hit the trees, fallen them down to the roads. The road filled with muddy water from a flooded river. The bus runs too slow, blocked by an absurd long traffic jam. Staring out the window, I see many frustrated people started to abandon their vehicle and walking through the flood. Their good clothes are all wet. All of their make-up worn out.

I keep staring at my watch. Soon, I must be in the office. There will be so many reports I need to check. I began to fidget. Although come to think of it, my reports won't affect those people walking in the flood by any means.

Suddenly, all the passengers on the bus were startled by a loud sound. The bus driver reflexes to hit the horn several times. There's a big tree fell, just a few meters in front of the Bus.

"Ah, C'mon! There's no way we stay on this bus!" I shouted. Maybe I shout too loud. Some people stared at me with a weird smile. I jumped off the bus, joining the others walk on the flooded street with knee-high water. But I don't care, I just kept walking, ignoring my wet shoes and wet pants. I kept walking, past the chaotic traffic jam. I witnessed a policeman, he looks so depressed in this chaotic situation.

"I feel you, sir. When we can not finish the job well," I said to the policemen. Of course not directly to him. I said that just by staring him through the eyes. But the policeman apparently heard me. He looked straight at me, then shouted out loud.

"Hey, you! Do not walk there! "

I was stunned, then pointed at my own chest.

"Yes, you! Do not walk there. That's the road for cars, not person. Or, do you want me to get you a ticket?!"

What's with this policeman. I never heard a pedestrian could get a ticket. I fell silent and stood, my body beginning to shiver, not out of fear, more because my pants had started to grow cold. I was still unmoved. The policeman walked closer. He was already only a step ahead of me. I stared deeply into his face. That was the moment when I realize that it was only a dream. Because the police face in front of me was the face of Mr. Saragih, my boss at the office.


So, there was I, still in bed. The rain still fell so hard. I glanced at the watch lying on the table, it was eleven o'clock. Surely, it's too late to go to work. I reached for the phone, there were 56 missed calls, hundreds of unread messages and emails. I didn't open it. Instead, I start to type a short message.

"I'm sorry, I couldn't go to work now. I feel cold. Thanks."

A very short message, send it to my boss. After that, I turned off my phone. Jakarta was rainy and cold, what a perfect time to grab a blanket and continue sleeping. I kinda like this luxury. Despite my leaking roof keep sending water drips to my shower.

It didn't take too long for me to be in the sleep mode. The dream continues, I saw a floating market with lots of boats. In the middle of the market, among the boats, I saw the Monas peak with its golden color filled with seaweeds...

Sort:  

Great work! I wish that the flash-fiction genre was bigger on steemit.

There are writers on Steemit that consistently writing short fiction. Here are my favorite writers, I think you should follow them too: @calluna, @nobyeni, @mervin-gil, @jhnmunoz and many more. They're all awesome!

Wow thank you very much for the recommendation, you have genuinely made my day <3

@calluna you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

What are these gang doing? -.-"

This piece really got me laughing @gibic, it is nicely written, kudos!
It's really funny how you describe discerning the whole scenario as a dream... You must have asked yourself how is it that your boss got recruited into the police force, lol.

Haha. Thank you @aduragbemi! Glad you like it :D
Yeah, that's a bad dream to see boss' face in it. Lol.

What if " come and collect your money" is among the message you dont boder to read? This was thw question i was about to ask before i discover you are dreaming

Just like an old song by the Carpenters: "Rainy days and Mondays always bring me down". Lol

Lol, but not in all occasion.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gibic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi gibic,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hoppefully there will be no floof

Yeah, hopefully so :)

hahahahaha...untung boss nya gak beneran datang dan jadi polisi ke rumahmu bang @gibic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95