Does comedy or misfortune need a description?

in #flegs6 years ago (edited)

I can't sleep tonight, so am responding to criticism on

https://steemit.com/bloopers/@zxojwtmo/live-tv-gone-wrong-funniest-ever-news-bloopers

My thoughts are a bit higgildy piggildy but I'm sure @anthonyadavisii and @freebornangel can have a read and see what they think

By all accounts, I should be describing in detail why a funny Youtube video is worth watching.

Maybe my description should be updated to say:

"TV bloopers are funny because it shows that people on tv are normal people too. People like to laugh at other people's misfortune, and they are glad that the bad thing isn't happening to them. People also like to laugh as it can help them to avoid thinking of bad things in their life."

Honestly I think this is an over the top expectation, some videos by content creators on Youtube can speak for themselves. If I think content is worthwhile for my audience to watch I will share it with them.
I don't think a description adds anything to this video. Maybe you expect a discussion on the nuances of comedy or the comedy of tragedy, but most users who voluntarily follow my content don't.

If a description is needed or not should be up to me. People don't always have time for detailed articles or blog posts, but want to keep their blog somewhat active. If the above post put a smile on one other face other than mine that wouldn't have seen it otherwise then it is worthwhile.

If my channel has allowed steemit users to view content +ads by Youtubers then this can support these creators. In the beginning of my account I used to post just vids however of the past couple of weeks and months, I have justified why I post youtube videos and give descriptions when I have time to and when it adds to the content. I believe that I have grown into a better blogger on this site over time, and whatever tiny amount of money I have made hasn't been taken from this site to buy my private jet just yet.

I know people like you @anthonyadavisii and @freebornangel are following through in my opinion on etiquette imposed by the steemit users who got in and invested early and can use their gains to arguably bully smaller users. In a free market you are entitled to use your voting power to carry out other people's wishes as you please.

I don't think I was doing anything wrong of late and certainly wasn't much more than breakeven for my time on the site in usd, even the brief time using promotion services, which I only used on posts with a description of some sort.
In shocking news post promotion services aren't profitable.

If you don't want me here I can continue my power down and dump my steem and sbd and sell my account instead of using that to contribute to treeplanter or other voting bots.

Questions back to you:

A) What is wrong with sharing a video that gives someone who voluntarily follows my channel a lift in their day, if their is nothing worthwhile to add in commentary
If someone else values my contribution to the site in this way, why should i choose not to receive a few cents for this?

B) What isn't blockchain spam? You definitely don't go through all the new content and read it and sort for spam, see what is recycled garbage or not. If someone creates a bot that does something on steemit and then posts a daily update of what the bot did that day, or a trader says some head and shoulders pattern appeared on one coin today and a different coin tomorrow -it's all spam or a different version of spam or recycled material.

The early adapters choose who gets flagged or not. And people can choose to engage with my content or not, it's fairly simple.

C) What is discernible value to the blockchain?

If 100 or 1000 people today write that BTC is above 8000 and screenshot coinmarket cap or an exchange and write a paragraph on it rewording what someone else already said does the 1st person add value? Maybe to people who can't google. Does the 2nd? 3rd? ..... 1000th? You get my point. Someone who writes this stuff can be of value to their followers as the followers use it for news but to the blockchain as a whole? Who gets to decide?
Will you flag people who post about the price of bitcoin every day even though we all can google? No obviously you won't.

Or someone who posts a photo of grass to the photochallenge tag or whatever? one person's treasure could be "the blockchain's" shite. It's of value because he took it himself? or cropped it in a way that you can't reverse image search it? I could go on forever.

If someone enjoys my content then it is of value, even if you don't think so.

Sort:  

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 20.11% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Congratulations @zxojwtmo! You received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @zxojwtmo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62423.89
ETH 3202.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81