The Planters on the Deck

in #flower6 years ago

planter 2.JPG

This is probably my favourite time of year. First, the spring flowers came out one variety after another. Then when the ground was dry enough to work and most danger of frost had past, in went the seeds and seedlings. Now we see the start of the summer flowers.

This year, filling the planters was delayed by a few days when I went to check them and they, ahem, fell apart. They're over 20 years old but the new repairs should make them last a few more years.

planter 1.JPG

The man who built my deck surprised me with the bench and planters. I thought it was great. The first time I went to fill them, I realized I should protect the wood with some kind of plastic liner so I took the measurements and went looking. But what chance would I have of getting a good fit? To my surprise, I found that dishpans were the perfect size - I thought it was brilliant!

I got out a hammer and nail and customized them with a drainage holes but the bigger problem is that plants sitting in a dishpan in full sun must be heat tolerant. Drought tolerance is handy too. There were a few years of experimentation before I only bought heat/drought tolerant plants. Now I know which plants to choose from each year.

planter.JPG

In this photo, you can see more of the planter with the trailing plants just starting to peek over the edge. There is a mixture of taller as well as trailing plants in each container, and this year's colours are purples, reds and yellows.

References

Heat Tolerant Container Gardens for Sweltering Summers
22 Best Flowers for Full Sun | Heat Tolerant Flowers for Containers

Images

All photos from the iPad of @kansuze.

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Sort:  

Your plants look fabulous. Good job on the planter repairs.

Thanks! Hopefully, I will finish my spring gardening this week.

Good Luck! I am still hurting I was unable to plant anything as it requires me lifting bags of dirt and my back won't let me right now.

Yes, that's tough. I remember last year when mine hurt and I carried my cast iron patio furniture outside one chair per day! Did you try a chiropractor or physiotherapist first?

You are right on everything has slowed down. I was able to cut the grass but paying in pain today. I have done 4 Osteopath visit it does seem to be helping. I was there today and she says it is getting better. I go to doc's tomorrow to see what the X rays say.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88