(Papaver rhoeas.L) aka The Poppy flower 🌺

in #flower6 years ago

So for a while I kept staring at this beautiful flower I came across in a friend's garden today. I couldn't help it but kept admiring it's rose red color which was appealing to my eyes..
So I decided to learn more about it online and in a nut shell here is what I discovered.
poppy-834203__480.jpgA poppy is a flowering plant in the subfamily Papaveroideae of the family Papaveraceae. Poppies are herbaceous plants, often grown for their colourful flowers. One species of poppy, Papaver somniferum, is the source of the crude drug opium which contains powerful medicinal alkaloids such as morphine and has been used since ancient times as an analgesic and narcotic medicinal and recreational drug. It also produces edible seeds. Following the trench warfare in the poppy fields of Flanders during World War I, poppies have become a symbol of remembrance of soldiers who have died during wartime.poppy-3414932.jpg
I also discovered that it comes in different colors such as yellow, violet and orange colored. Here are a few more let's check them out.poppy-3381416.jpg
Absolutely beautiful and here is one morepoppy-139357.jpg And there it is absolutely gorgeous.
Flowers play a big role in our lives and health.
https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/flowers/poppy/growing-poppy-flowers.htm here is a link to help you know more about the POPPY FLOWERS.

Your comments and contributions are welcome.
Upvotes please ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64