Spring Flowers- Celandine Poppy- Part 11

in #flower6 years ago

Spring Flowers- Celandine Poppy- Part 11

Celandine Poppy

This particular Celandine Poppy, Stylophorum diphyllum, is native to the U.S. They are in the Papaveraceae family and are also known as Wood Poppies.

They are usually found in the northern woodlands of the U.S., but they can also be grown in your garden and will do well if you give them plenty of shade and water.

They bloom in the spring and through May. They grow to be approximately 24" tall.

Many people get these Celandine Poppies confused with Greater Celandine. You can tell the difference by looking at the size of the flower and by looking at the seed pods.

Celandine Poppies have a large blooms, and their seed pods are oval-shaped and fuzzy. Greater Celandine have smaller blooms and their seed pods are narrow, and do not have any fuzz.

They contain yellowish-orange sap which the Native Americans used as dye and war paint.

These poppies contain pollen only and I was lucky enough to have an insect on one of them. Yay!

And here it is flying away.

More spring flowers to come, so stayed tuned.

Information Source: gardeningknowhow.com

Image Source: 100% own work.

Sort:  

Love the rich yellow color.

That is the perfect description for the color. Wish I had thought of that! : )

Wow, that's another flower I don't believe I've seen before! Very nice!

Yay! Another new one for you. : ) These poppies sure do brighten up a yard. : )

It nice @whatisnew, bright yellow is wonderful. And this kind of flower also doesn't grow in my region so this is very first time for me to see it. Thanks for sharing, warm greeting for you and I'm in patient to wait your newest post about spring flower. Cheers. :)

I sure am happy that I could brighten your day @ayijons. I also like to see new things. Thanks so much for your interest. Warm greetings to you also. : )

Hello @whatisnew: Unlike many other posts, it seems very good and I congratulate you, because you offer a brief summary on important aspects about the flowers that you present ... Maybe the insect is in a pollination job, well that It is a speculation on my part. Greetings.

Hi cjao20! You are so kind and you brighten my day. : ) I sure do appreciate your wonderful comment.
That could very well be the insects job. LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60