Photo Challenge - #flowerfriday of @menschenskinder - Spindly Orchids

in #flowerfriday6 years ago (edited)

flower friday.jpg

I captured these interesting orchids around New Years and when I saw them I wanted to call them "Dragon Orchids". I'm not sure of their official name or even common name but they certainly spark the imagination...

  • Dragon Orchid
  • Spider Orchid
  • Freckled Star

You might even come up with one of your own names if you study the interesting curves and features of this beauty for a few moments...

flower fri.jpg

This is my entry for the #photochallenge #contest #flowerfriday by @lichtblick , @menschenskinder and supported by @welovesteemit

Below I edited one of these imagines to show what some insects like bees might see if they were to look at this flower. Even without much color this orchid is still amazing! I can see why orchids are quite the dazzlers enticing pollinators and flower lovers alike!

flower fri (2).jpg

Thank you for taking a look at my post and please remember to upvote if you like it :-)

I #Love #Nature #Flowers and the #Outdoors #happy365steem #yourluckyphotos #originalworks @originalworks #beauty #blog #art #steem #steemit #photo #contest

Sort:  

I've never seen a Dragon Orchid. Orchids are my favorite. Great post! Thank you for sharing.

Thank you, I really love orchids too. I'll keep sharing them on #flowerfridays that is if the contests continues every week. If not ... I'll share them anyway! Thanks for commenting :-D

No problem. Looking forward to your future post.

I love orchids​ but I have no luck with getting them to stay alive... If you can get them to stay alive or grow them then you're amazing! The flower is simply unique! ​

Thank you! I'm not great at getting them to stay alive but I would say living in a tropical climate helps. They tend to do alright even if I'm not orchid expert :-)

Thanks! By the way, after I made my first purchase with steem buying essential oils online I stumbled upon crypto mining apps. Basically there are apps that play a small add and then earn you crypto. It's slow to build but so far I've made over $200 in one week if they actually pay out. When I get my first pay out I was going to make a post about it. If you are interested let me know :-)

are they like faucets? yeah that sounds interesting.

Congratulations @janellelanae! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Lovely plant. I belive this is Brassia maculata, an orchid from Mexico. I have one just like it flowering at the moment :)

Cool! Thanks for that info! Guess its not asian so dragon orchid might not be appropriate. Do you know if it has a common name?

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @janellelanae.

This post received a 1.050 SBD (11.05%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @janellelanae! For more information, check out my profile!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68648.42
ETH 3813.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48