Buddha's Hand

in #flowers6 years ago

IMG_0880 2.JPG
Look at this lemon! I found this on a visit to a Lucky's in Oakland Park. In the picture my friend Kat and I are holding two lemons, but they aren't round like you'd expect. I did some research and found out its officially called citrus medica (variety sarcodactylis), or the fingered citron. This variety of fruit gets its name from the fact that it resembles depictions Buddha's hand.

It looks to me like a lemon that got confused and thought it was a flower. There are probably 15-20 fingers on each fruit but generally these varieties do not contain any fruit or pulp. They'd be perfect for making some lemon powder or candied fruit though and I believe Kat is using it as a center piece. What would you do with your Buddha's hand?

Sort:  

i think "buddha's hand" is both a species and also a citrus mutation, most material on the internet says "that's not a mutant lemon, that's a different citrus", but these are actually mutant lemons !!

That is right nikolai. But buddha's hand IS a species and tastes different than lemons. To me, still one of the "scariest" fruits :D.

I discovered they existed earlier this week. So fascinating... I’d love to try one :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48