THE ROSE AND THE GLADIOLA, excerpt from Thymely Tales, transformational fairy tales for adults and children   copyright 2016

in #flowers6 years ago

Below is an excerpt from Thymely Tales, transformational fairy tales for adults and children copyright 2016

​THE ROSE AND THE GLADIOLA

"​Once upon a time in an old English garden there lived a Rose and a Gladiola. Their Garden was lovingly attended by the Gardener. He had spent his entire life gardening there. His father had been the gardener before him, and had taught him everything he knew. The Gardener loved the Garden as if it were his own. He spent more time there than with his own family. His son had grown up and now assisted him, and would take over after he was no longer able to work.

​The Gardener had put much time and care into the Garden. He collected scraps and peelings from Cook so he could compost. In the fall he carefully raked up every leaf and turned it over into the soil. From the dairy he collected manure which he added liberally.

Consequently, the soil was rich in nutrients. The tilth was loamy and dark. Whole generations of worms lived there with their families; their casings adding to the nutrients. Their burrowing improving the looseness, enabling plants to grow luxuriantly.

​The Rose and the Gladiola grew in this environment. The special soil encouraged them to grow large and beautiful. Their stalks were healthy and a deep color of green. Their blooms were full and soft. When the Gardener saw them he would sigh in appreciation. They were both gorgeous, the Rose a pale pink, the Gladiola lemon yellow.

​The Rose stood in the middle of the Garden, the warm sun shining down. The breeze ruffled her leaves. She looked over at the Gladiola, tall and proud, near the protection of the garden wall. "She could lean against the wall if she gets tired," mused the Rose. Rose started studying the Gladiola. "She is so nice and tall and elegant. Look how she sways in the breeze. Yellow is such a nice color. I wish I was tall and yellow."

​The Gladiola became aware of the Rose's interest. "Rose is a pretty shade of pink. That looks so feminine. She's short and cute too. Being taller than most of the flowers here, I feel self-conscious and awkward."

​"She's looking my way," said Rose to herself. "All of her blossoms are pointing in my direction. Wouldn't that be wonderful to have all those blossoms on one stately stem? They keep right on blooming, almost to the sky. That must be really nice. I wish I had all those blooms."

​"I feel so ugly next to that pretty pink Rose,” murmured Gladiola. "I can smell her fragrance all the way over here. I wonder how I could get some of that perfume."

​"If only I didn't have all these awful thorns. I'd be so much better as a flower," complained Rose. "I don't want anyone to get hurt just by touching me." She started to cry.

​Gladiola couldn't look at the Rose anymore. "It's no good. She's a much better flower than me. Even a blind person could smell her. I have absolutely no perfume and I'm too tall. I'm ready to fall over now," she sniffled.

​At that moment the Gardener walked into the Garden. He saw the Rose and the Gladiola all drooped over. He walked up to them. "Whatever is the matter?" he asked with concern.

​They both told him their sad stories. The Gardener chuckled. "Well my two beauties. This is an interesting dilemma. I suppose you want me to decide who the best flower is."

​"Yes, that would be perfect," they nodded in agreement.

​"I can't" he stated simply. "You are both different and your beauty is also different. I think you're both great!" He touched each of them on their petals.

​"You see, the miracle of life is variety," he explained. "Harmony and peace of mind will come to each of you when you realize that different means joy. Celebrate your differences!" With that he went to weed a different section of the Garden.

​The Rose and the Gladiola gave each other sheepish little smiles. The Rose verbalized it for both of them. "Being me is magnificent, whether I'm a Rose, or a Gladiola, or even a weed!" They closed their eyes in contentment and turned their leaves to the sun."

thymelauren.wixsite.com/thymely-one

https://www.amazon.com/Thymely-Tales-Transformational-Adults-Children/dp/1523825510/ref=sr_1_10?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1526155262&sr=1-10&keywords=LAUREN+o.+thyme

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01