Wildflower series - wild wormwood

in #flowers6 years ago

artemisia flower.jpg

Artemisia afra is an indigenous wormwood that is found in most parts of South Africa. I grow it in the garden because it is a medicinal herb. As the name suggests, it is similar to wormwood and it is a highly aromatic and bitter-tasting plant which has antiseptic properties.

I don't grow it because I feel the need to deworm myself all the time but because it is very helpful for colds and flu and clearing congested chests and sinuses. It can be taken internally in the form of a tea but I mainly use it in steam baths. Riding a bike in our very dry winter climate makes me quite prone to sinusitis and I like to keep this on hand to help clear them. The plant is usually harvested and dried just as the flower buds are ready to open, as pictured below. I hang this up inside to dry and once it has dried completely, I put it in a container for future use

artemisia buds.jpg

Sort:  

What a great plant with so many beneficial uses

I once read an article about a recipe that had wormwood steeped in vinegar for several weeks. The resulting solution was applied topically to heal bruises.

That might work but I haven't tried it

This sounds like a very handy herb to have, my family suffers a lot from allergies and sinus. I might give this herb a try, thanks for the tip.

I'm not sure if you will find it in Aus, its indigenous to Africa

Many years ago, in villages, 2-3 twigs of wormwood were laid on the floor, thus protecting rooms from fleas.

Plants like these do get rid of fleas, they don't like the smell

I didn't knew this. Very interesting and useful article. Thank you for this information :) The photos are also very nice :)

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99