Update on my lilies, since I didn't get to float yesterday...

in #flowers6 years ago (edited)

Well... I woke up to rain yesterday so our float trip had to be rescheduled. So the river/float trip pictures that I was going to share, are nada... I was hoping that after my husband @hangrydwarf and I were done performing on The Sounds of Steem on MSP Waves Radio yesterday morning, the rain would have stopped. Unfortunately it didn't until around 3 pm and we just didn't want to chance the high water.

But there were somethings that loved the rain we got, and that was our flowers! Now usually I have a very, VERY brown thumb and can't keep plants alive for nothing! So when my step-mom bought me these lilies, I was very nervous about them actually making it. But they are thriving, thankfully!

lily2.jpg

Each of my five lilies have buds on them save for one, which I accidentally broke while weeding the flower bed... and there are 3 or more buds on each individual stem! So we're going to have some pretty tiger lilies opening here soon!

lily1.jpg

My husband also has a few red lilies that are up a ways from my flower bed next to our porch, and we were surprised with a big, beautiful red lily that opened up just yesterday morning!

redlily.jpg



Lilies are my favorite flowers and I was so excited when they first popped up this spring. Along with the lilies, I have iris' in the back getting very tall but not yet blooming, some salvia's to the side and a lot of violet covering the ground. The flower bed is only about half full right now, but I didn't want to over do my brown thumb and plant something in every square inch! ;) I hope you've enjoyed the flowers and I'm excited to show them to you when they finally bloom and show their inner beauty to the world!


Thanks for looking and hope to see you again soon!
Ask me how to join the Steemit Local Music Society on Discord!
Banner made by @bembelmaniac

rockchickjen_banner.jpg
Helpienaut_post_banner_01-01.png

Sort:  

I think your thumb is getting greener! It all looks really happy!

Thank you! I had a wonderful teacher! ;) Love you sweetie!!!

They looks healthy enough and great clicks.

Thanks! I'm really happy that I'm learning how to grow plants. I love them, I was just never able to keep anything alive! Haha! Until now it seems!

You will surely do great Cary on dear

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Rock Chick Jen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Having a green thumb is a learning experience, not something you just have or don't have. The more you do, the more you learn, even if it's learning what not to do. :-)

Haha! Yep... that's how I've learned the most. ;) I kill something then go ask a friend and try again! I did keep a bamboo plant alive for over 12 years until recently when my husband killed it... Haha! That was my longest and first plant I ever kept alive.

Looking good! I have the same problem with my “brown thumb” except for when it comes to my house plants, but our flowers and veggies are off to a good start, so I’m feeling hopeful this year!

Right! I don't touch the garden... that's all on Davis. I keep telling him to post pics of his garden. He's out there multiple times a day but just doesn't do it... Haha! It's coming along pretty good, we just have to keep the deer out of it... The boys pee around it but that doesn't seem to be enough lately.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62841.54
ETH 3040.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92