You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wisteria

in #flowers6 years ago

Thank you for another interesting post, @thekittygirl.

When I was a child, I thought the purple-flowered vine in the tree in our yard in Darlington County was a mysterious vine.

It seems that they were a more common decorative plant in the South a few decades ago. I wonder if that is just my faulty memory?

Sort:  
I don't think your memory is faulty, and tend to agree that it was more common in days-gone-by than it is today. That could stem from several reasons:

  • Since the Chinese Wisteria and Japanese Wisteria grow out of control so easily, I suspect that some folks make a conscious decision to keep it off their property. My father decided to do exactly that a few years ago, but we were unable to remove all the roots, so it keeps coming back.

  • There appear to be gardening "fads" that come-and-go with time. Seeds are shared, or there is a merely a desire to plant what others are planting (either to "keep up with the Joneses" or to try to out-best the Jones' garden). I remember my mother planted many things when I was a child simply because people in the neighborhood/church shared seeds with her, and she shared seeds from her plants with others. Perhaps Wisteria is "out of style" for now, but will be coming back in vogue at some other time?

  • Since the non-native Chinese Wisteria and Japanese Wisteria are so prolific, they are considered to be "invasive species" in many areas, so gardeners are encouraged to plant the native American Wisteria instead. That variety requires more moisture, though, and the blooms are not as large, nor quite as fragrant, so many gardeners might be abandoning the idea of Wisteria, altogether. That is merely a guess, though, from what I have read and I don't have any data to back that theory.

Thanks for your comment! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74