You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tokens and Tribes and FOMO

in #fomo5 years ago

I have staked up in Creative Coin a bit (around 18k staked) and have about 20k more open buy orders open at lower prices. It was a good fit for me, nearly 100% overlap with the kinds of posts and users I upvote regularly and also nearly all of my own posting can go under the tag. I like and trust the folks running the tribe and they have been active so far in cleaning up abuse of the tag and using their owner's stake to curate the tag. Price has been bouncing around between .04 and .03 Steem with a slight downward trend for past week or two.

One interesting thing is even if @abh12345 is right in terms of, it might not be a good decision to buy any of these tokens for a long term hold, in the short term you can award a ton of value with your vote. My full upvote currently is ~60 creative coin (worth ~1.8 Steem or $.36 USD). Compare that with my (voting / non-delegated out) 897 SP which awards less than $.01. I am awarding more than 36 times as much value per upvote in $ terms in Creative Coin than I am in Steem. In the past week and a half I have basically given the same $ rewards out to people as I would do in the next year of voting with my SP. I have absolutely loved being able to give out upvotes worth almost 2 steem, with an investment way less than it would require to get enough SP to give out 2 steem upvotes directly.

Sort:  

Took the words right out of my mouth. I can almost say the same thing. I have a lot of SP in comparison though and with roughly the same amount of CCC as you, it's like I'm handing out 100% votes at 50% power.

I've been trying to get more of the creative types I've met over the years involved. So many have left though. I'm being careful with my votes as well, looking for those posts with effort, looking for community builders; stakers instead of takers. It's far too soon for inexperienced members to dump but most don't understand the business side of things. Need to build a strong foundation first or the whole thing will just fall to the ground. So I'll spend a bit of money and take on the risk, try to help get the ball rolling. If it doesn't work, it doesn't work. I would have smoked that money anyway.

"If it doesn't work, it doesn't work" yeah there is really nothing to lose at this point when you are talking about about a few hundred Steem. On the main chain that few hundred Steem might as well be pissing in the wind, but right now that amount worth of CCC or another side token can give decent reward, and if there is even a chance it might continue to grow and build toward an actual community of creative types, actually creating and interacting and curating and being rewarded for same... then what the fuck is there to lose?

I know for a fact arts and entertainment does well anywhere else. Multi billion dollar industry. Just need some more arts and entertainers; plenty left, maybe they'll come back. Most won't work for pennies though so trying to get more buys than sells is important. Getting paid to be entertained is an easy sell and the place will need invested consumers in order to thrive. If it's just people earning and selling, it doesn't stand a chance.

The final paragraph is the reason why i suggest not investing into any of the tribes unless you plan to be there for the long haul.

. In the past week and a half I have basically given the same $ rewards out to people as I would do in the next year of voting with my SP.

How does that work then, without the tokens being massively over-valued?

A few weeks ago, i could give 15000 sports with a full vote, worth a staggering 120 STEEM. It is no surprise to see that my vote is now 15 times less with twice as many tokens vested. 7.5 STEEM for a full vote at current market rate - still insane, further falls to come imo.

well at the beginning of one of these tribes a big part of the seeming overvalue of the vote is just that there are not a ton of votes being cast. Our steem votes would be worth a lot more too if as small a % of the total SP was being used to vote. But of course you are also right that there is some overvaluation. But that is kind of what I am saying, in reverse. There is overvaluation right now. It is awesome to get to take advantage of that and actually be able to reward some quality artists and photographers and writers, and if they want they could exchange that reward for steem right now in amounts that I will never be able to do with my owned SP and miniscule Steem vote. If the token crashes that doesn't take away the amount I have already been able to reward, and how awesome that felt :) I kinda feel like I already got my money's worth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63642.15
ETH 3126.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87