My Vegetarian Food Collection

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I believe that having an optimum health is one of the most significant treasures that we can have in this life. While growing up as a kid, I wasn't into healthy living. I didn't like vegetables and fruits. Eating fried chicken, junk foods, and other unhealthy dishes were my favorites.

MMA (7).jpg
Caption: Life is short. Spend it wisely by living healthily. :)

But as I got into college, I became more informed about lifestyle-related diseases. Thus, in 2014, I finally decided to make a huge change in my life. This decision didn't happen at an instant! It was from years of prayers, reading, and fighting! Yes, fighting because I just so love fried chicken. hahaha.

If you're interested about getting into healthier options, I'm going to share to you some of the vegetarian dishes I made. These are not the best veggie dishes (No, I'm not a chef!) but these were cook from the heart.

1. Kamote Tops Salad (Sweet Potato Leaves Salad)

kamote tops.jpg

Say goodbye to those fatty meat dishes and say hi to this kamote tops salad or sweet potato leaves salad. Simply blanch the leaves (after washing it thoroughly), and add some onion, lime, ginger and tomatoes. Add some salt or sugar to taste. Sweet potato leaves contains a lot of vitamins, minerals and antioxidants.

2. Pancit with Tofupancit 2017 (1).jpg

I missed eating pancit, but usually, they add some beef on it. So, as an alternative, you can put some tofu on it. Tofu is rich in protein but low in harmful fat. As a Filipino, Pancit also has a part in the long table. Be of good cheer for you don't have to discard pancit on your party dishes, coz' tofu is there for you. You may fry the tofu or just add it to the pancit while cooking.

3. Pako Salad ((Fiddlehead Fern Salad)

Pako salad.jpg

I could still remembe the moment when I tried fresh Pako Salade in Camiguin Island a few years ago. It's so crunchy and it blends well with the sauce. Just mix it with tomatoes, red onions, lime, sugar, salt, and voila it's done. Again, blanch the leaves for safety purposes. Don't you know that Pako is rich in beta-carotene! Let's eat this then. Btw, my dad likes to stir-fry Pako leaves with egg. Somehow, it's yummy. But I still prefer the Salad.

4. Talong Tinooang Salad (Eggplant and Coconut Milk Salad)

tinooangtalong.jpg

Slurrrrp! Yummy! This is one of my all-time favorite. The creamy texture of coconut milk is simply stunning! Simply grill teh eggplant, remove its skin, and add it to the coconut milk. To make it more tasty, add some red and green onions, ginger, lime, salt, and chili. When it comes to benefits, eggplant contain some amounts of fiber, vitamin C, K and B6, copper, etc. Btw, I don't usually use vinegar. I choose lime or lemoncito as a healthier option.

------------ @abigailloveremo ----------

Alright, those are just some of my favorite Vegetarian Food Collection. Hope you enjoy it! God bless us all.

"Grains, fruits, nuts, and vegetables constitute the diet chosen for us by our Creator. These foods, prepared in as simple and natural a manner as possible, are the most healthful and nourishing. They impart a strength, a power of endurance, and a vigor of intellect that are not afforded by a more complex and stimulating diet." - The Ministry of Healing, page 295

24883098_2065431536805563_26208448_o.jpg

Thank you @amy-goodrich, @lenasveganliving, @vanny and @nikolina for having you as my Steemit friends who also wants to have a joyful and healthy life.

Disclaimer: The article, trademark, and photos appearing on this site may not be used in any advertising or publicity, or affiliation with any product or service, without the author's prior written permission.

abilove.png

@gratefulvibes @steemgigs @bayanihan @minnowbooster @PAL

Sort:  

na miss ko ang pako na atsal..ginutom aq haha thanks for sharing

You got a 11.09% upvote from @whalebuilder courtesy of @abigailloveremo. Join @whalebuilder family at our Discord Channel. Don't let your precious stake(SP) go stale...Make it do more so you have to do less. Deligate it to @whalebuilder by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links: 50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | custom amount.

Everything looks so delicious! I think my favorite is number 3, hehe! :)

Ohh!! So, you like the green leafy veggie dish. :) Thanks for dropping by @Nikolina. :) It's been a while.

Pako salad is love <3

Yes! Love it too. haha @bloghound

Thanks for the post@abigailloveremo.. Thanks for using Mrs. White's words...A strong health message and reminder to all of us . God Bless you and your ministry.

God bless you, po and your ministry , too! Thanks. @theseamaster. steem on!

I didn't even know that you could eat sweet potato leafes, It's not available in The Netherlands unfortunately.

Oh. :) If you have time to visit Philippines, you may try sweet potato leaves. Thanks for dropping by. @thepinksuitcase

The Philippines are absolutely on my bucket list! I will try the dishes for sure when I visit one day!

Cool! :D :D See you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67332.03
ETH 3499.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25