A Day in Sapporo: Ramen Hopping

in #food6 years ago (edited)


I was somewhere around Susukino slipping and sliding on frosted concrete when the hunger kicked in. As I walk past random strangers, I can't help but notice their thick and warm looking winter boots while curiously staring at me in my tennis shoes as if to say: “Hey moron, it’s winter and there’s a blizzard out. Why are you wearing those!?”

Ramen Alley
Ramen Alley

My toes were numb past the point of frostbite, it felt like a thousand needles were fired at every exposed skin in my body, and all I can think of is Ramen!

Hot, delicious, and savory Ramen!


My affair with Ramen started during my college years. I would decorate and garnish cheap Top Ramen with various toppings to where it became an art of sorts.

Raumen Yokocho
Raumen Yokocho

I figured that topping the sodium and preservative rich junk food would make it somewhat palatable and delay heart attacks long enough for me to get me through college to afford the medical bills. Fast forward a few years later, I still haven’t had a cardiac arrest from the college diet and can now afford my second holiday to Japan.

Shio Ramen
Shio Ramen

I’ve also graduated to real Ramen and became somewhat of a connoisseur. While here braving a blizzard in Hokkaido, I stumbled upon Sapporo Ramen Yokocho.

Shoyu Ramen With Seafood
Shoyu Ramen With Seafood

But it’s no accident I found this place, it came as a recommendation from the hostel I stayed at in the Red Light district. I know what you're thinking. The red Light district, Uh-huh. Just what the heck are you doing there Adonis? Let me explain. By sheer accident I came by this place, it was the cheapest one I could find, I swear, no funny business!

Sapporo Ramen Yokocho


Or simply called Ramen Alley, is a famous spot in Susukino. It is said to be the birthplace of my Miso Ramen (my favorite) and here the cream of the crop rises to the top....or better yet a terminator, like Arnold...Schwar....Terrible House of Pain reference, sorry! The ground zero, the base at which every Ramen bowl defines itself is the broth, and the rich creamy broth of Miso Ramen is so delicious it will leave you licking every last drop from your bowl.

Ramen With Abalone
Ramen With Abalone

Topped with slightly fatty slices of melt-in-your-mouth slow roasted pork belly with perfectly boiled soft yolk egg? You have yourself a Ramen bowl made in heaven. Ramen so good it melted the frostbite out of my frozen toes. I could eat Ramen at every meal for a month here in Sapporo and never run into to the same Ramen shop. They’re scattered throughout the city but there’s several packed in the Ramen alley and it behooves to pay it a visit should your travels take you to Sapporo.

If Miso Ramen isn’t down your alley, do not despair! There are plenty of Ramen choices in each shop and some will specialize in specific ones. There’s Tsuke-Men, Shio, Shoyu, Tonkotsu, and Wakayama – you have many Ramen to cater to your appetite so slurp your noodles away!

Ramen With Kakuni
Ramen With Kakuni

Ramen alley is at Chuo-ku, Sapporo 064-0808, Hokkaido, Japan.

By train Take the Nanboku line to Susukino Station. From there it's just a 2-minute walk south and to your left.

DO YOU LIKE RAMEN?


Ramen Hopping In Sapporo Japan



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : Sapporo Ramen

Sort:  

I like the cornmeal

oh the food just looks too good 😊😊 ASIAN FOOD IS THE BEST

Lots of delicious dishes and so well photographed. I salivate.

I really loved your post. 😍😍

Was talking about Sapporo in a different thread...

There's plenty that Sapporo can offer: Odori Park, Moerenuma Park, a walk in the Hokkaido University campus, Asaichi morning market, Shiroi Koibito Park, Sapporo Beer Factory Tour, Okurayama Ski Jump ramp, Shopping near Sapporo Station, Nightlife in Susukino, etc.

Be sure to eat Sapporo food: Ramen, Jingisukan (lamb grill/yakiniku), Seafood (how about kaisendon, sashimi on bowl of rice?), Butadon (pork rice bowl)

I was there in the dead of winter and just missed the Ice festival - definitely one to check out!

Oh my God, I love Ramen, for me the most delicious Chinese dish that exists, if I could eat it every day, I was a very happy woman, thank you for showing me that delicious food.

I believe it's Japanese but they probably took the idea from the Chinese Chow Mein.

Actually Ramen = Laimen in Chinese, which means pulled noodle........
Japanese people like to roll their "Ls" which turns to"Rs" lol!

Me parece una combinación de la comida asiática e inglesa, como se come en Japón, con ese frío debe haber sido muy reconfortante. Saludos.

Wow beautiful, well done on the photos .. a wonderful experience
Great post from you
Thanks for sharing..

Nice photography cool post .god bless you plz support

You got a 41.06% upvote from @upme thanks to @adonisabril! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56