ADSactly Food - ๐Ÿƒ The Nutty Edition ๐Ÿƒ

in #food โ€ข 6 years ago

cover .jpg

Welcome to this week's edition of ADSactly Food. This week we will be exploring the benefits of nuts, and in particular, almonds. I have prepared two recipes for you, both vegan, raw, sugar and dairy free.

Almonds are an amazing source of protein and are one of the best ways to get vitamin E into your body. A small handful provides 37% of the recommended daily intake of vitamin E. source. Vitamin E is important because it helps to beat cancer, heart disease and Alzheimer's disease. Almonds provide the body with energy, prevent heart disease and can even assist with weight loss.

Almonds are also full of protein which burns fat and can also increase your metabolism.

In my recipes this week, I fully utilize the magnificent power of the almond. These two recipes are super easy and they are good for you.

First up, is Almond Butter. Made from only almonds, this sure beats any shop bought version which may contain nasty hidden ingredients, and unwanted sugars.


๐ŸƒAlmond Butter ๐Ÿƒ

Ingredients :

  • 2 cups of almonds (that's it!)

Method:

Preheat the oven to 370'F/180'C and let it heat up. Place the almonds on the baking sheet, and roast for ten minutes. Be careful not to over roast the nuts. We are heating and roasting the nuts to coax out the miraculous oils, but roasting them too long will dry them out, and you will end up with almond cement, rather than butter!๐Ÿ˜‹

IMG_1177.jpg

Once done, place the almonds into the food processor, and blitz for ten to fifteen minutes. This is where you must have patience, as it does take some time. You will see the nuts turn to a crumble, then to fine dust, and finally, the magic natural oils will start to do their thing and turn the dust into a butter.

IMG_1185.gif

Scrape every last drop of this luscious butter into a jar, and store for later use on toast, in smoothies, in energy balls and wraps.

This will last for three weeks in the fridge.

IMG_1201.jpg


Wondering what to do with your fabulous nut butter? There are so many recipes out there that use nut butter, but today I have chosen to show you how to make Vegan Almond, Pistachio and Sesame Seed Energy Balls. These little balls of energy are great as a snack in between meals, or a breakfast on the go. The roasted almond butter gives them a dark and nutty chocolatey flavour, and the pistachios coupled with the sesame seeds provide an unexpected crunch.

Here's How:

๐ŸŒทVegan Almond, Pistachio and Sesame Seed Energy Balls ๐ŸŒท

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup almond butter
  • 1/2 cup pistachios
  • 1/2 cup sesame seeds
  • 6 dates, pitted
  • 2 t cranberries
  • 1 T coconut oil

Method:

Once again, this is a super easy recipe, bursting with pure health and flavour

Add all the ingredients into a food processor, and blitz, until well blended. The pistachios should not be too chunky, rather blitzed until finely chopped.

IMG_1204.jpg

Now you can begin to roll the balls. Measure out a heaped teaspoon of the mixture into your palm, and squeeze the mixture tightly, to compress and compact, and then roll between your palms to make a small ball.

Once complete, refrigerate for fifteen minutes before serving.

IMG_1207.jpg

These little balls of goodness are perfect for when you are peckish, and are a fabulous accompaniment to coffee.

IMG_1217.jpg

IMG_1218.jpg

Thank you so much for reading along. I would love to hear some suggestions for recipe ideas in the comments.

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort: ย 

I like your recipe but I will try with store bought almond butter I think. Thanks!

You will be surprised at how easy it is to make your own xx

Thanks for the vote of confidence, I will try!

Yes well done .. great work
Healthy food is the style of happy life
Thanks for the recipe

Whoa, looks delicious! I love almonds esp when it is mixed with chocolates - black chocolate!

Me too! I die over dark chocolate!!

Wow, your almond looks so roast-y and delicious! I made homemade pumpkin seed butter and it was amazing. Thanks for sharing.

wow, that sounds so incredible!

OMG this was sooo, luckily I get to be the guinea pig when it come to testing these recipes.

Hehe, sometimes this is not so fun... not that my recipes ever suck, but there have been a lot of vegan recipes lately - bot exactly Mork food ๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿ’“

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

soo yummm! I love the butter! I would be glad to have it with some toast and milk. Idk if this combination is good or is silly, it just came out!! or.......hhhhhiiiiiiiii!! Better to make a milkshake with the butter and milk and some extra sugary to have it sweet!! I LIKE THE ENERGY BALLS TOOO! actually I love all kind of energy healthy balls. Just give me some, and I'll make them to dissapear. Anyways, I love the recipe and thanks for reminding me about homemade almond butter. I forgot about it!! hugs

Hehehe your comment is too adorable for words! I love how excited you are ๐Ÿ’“

Iโ€™ve got some leftover butter and will definitely have it on some toast for lunch ๐ŸŒธ

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Really? I didn't realise it is so obvious:D but yes. I would loveeeee to have that insane almond butter in a cup of milk. It looks soo perfect from your photos. I guess I'll eat the photo! (after printing it) hahahaha :))))))
anyways :d I have to make myself something similar. Yes...This is the answer.
Gosh...idk about you but I'm so greedy!!
Hugsss

Lolzz ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜

This recipe looks super MEWlicious. I am going to make these for sure. Have you ever made any scones? I love scones not sure if there are any healthy ones ...lol....if you find any blackberry scone or really any berry recipies I would love to see you make those. Scones with coffee or tea=perfect start of your day! ALWAYS a pleasure @princessmewmew. Another great post. Thank you.

Oh great inspiration question! I will definitely look into this for you.

Scones are actually the first thing I ever learnt to bake.

I also love blackberries ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿป๐Ÿ˜˜

Will be on the look out for a healthy scone recipe x

Almonds are delicious and healthy. Even the oil is good for massage because it warms up and relaxes muscles. Almond oil is even used for keeping the skin young because of it's vitamin E and it can also be placed on hair as a mask

So true! I have an almond Argan oil I use for my face.

It looks so yummy! thanks for sharing the recipe :)

I tried making Almond butter once did not get a good result,will give it one more try with ur recipe,hoping it comes out well on my next attempt.As for the Vegan Almond,Pistachio and Sesame seed energy balls(quite a mouthful) will definitely be giving it a try.thanks for sharing @princessmewmew

Hehe! Itโ€™s me! Everything is a mouthful because I think all details are important

Why did your almond butter not work out well?

Hello @princessmewmew.Probably because i did not roast the almonds to bring out the oils making it a bit easier for blending like you suggested in the post plus i ran out of patience and enthusiasm coupled with the fact it was more tasking using a portable hand blender for the job.

oh, i can see how that would be frustrating. It did take a while, i must admit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87