Gorgeous chickpea salad

in #food6 years ago

cover.jpg

Here in the Southern Hemisphere, the weather is heating up. It's time to wind down for the year, take some time out and lounge by the pool. It is HOT 🌞🌞 in Africa, gurl! It's too hot for steaks, pastas and soups. But we can't eat a green salad every night... Sometimes I crave something a little special. A week night treat that is tasty, feels indulgent, but is still healthy. Checking all of these boxes is my Gorgeous Chickpea Salad. 🌱 You will thank me. This dressing is EVERYTHING!


Chickpeas are, in my humble opinion, one of the most under-rated ingredients IN THE WORLD. I use them to make hummus, roast them for salads, smash them onto toast and snack on for lunch. They are sooo tasty and SO healthy. I just love them! The dressing to go with this salad feels toasty and fragrant, with cumin melding onto crumbly, creamy feta cheese.

Here's How!

INGREDIENTS (serves six as a side, four as a main)

  • 800g bag of baby spinach
  • two wheels of feta cheese
  • 400gr can of chickpeas
  • 1 egg per serving
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • salt, pepper, chilli flakes and cumin
  • juice of one lemon
  • bread to serve (I chose rye)

METHOD

Make your dressing. In a squeezy bottle, add your olive oil, with a few teaspoons of lemon juice, a teaspoon of ground cumin seeds,a little chilli flakes, and salt and pepper. This is one of those recipes you will have to mix until it tastes right!

IMG_4021.JPG

To a large bowl add your baby spinach. Crumble the feta and toss the salad. Dress the salad.

IMG_4019.JPG

In an oven proof tray, add the chickpeas. Toss with a little dressing, salt and pepper. Roast in the oven until crispy.

IMG_4023.JPG

You can now move the dressed leaves to the serving bowl. Add in the chickpeas, and toss.

In a hot pan, quickly fry the eggs. 🍳🍳 I recommend a sunny-side up egg. The yolk is silky and adds an indulgent element to the dish.

Once fried, place on top of the salad, and serve with rye bread.

IMG_4026.JPG

This is sooo quick and easy. The flavours are subtle and simple. The zesty lemony dressing contrasts sharply with the creamy feta and silken yolk. It's gorgeously indulgent, yet simple and healthy enough for a weeknight dinner.

IMG_4037.JPG

Enjoy with the one you love. 💜

a delicious food post for ADSACTLY by @princessmewmew

DQmZfQY1EK6YB6zssgjGfadsactly footerWMpNWA6cGJRLB6trPBpCRd7tS2.gif

Sort:  

yummy and healthy. i must try it

Yum! Will have to save this in my bookmarks for when I can eat chickpeas again. You are right, so underrated and also one of my favourites!

As I look at those pictures my salivatory glands are oozing! I can imagine the wonderful flavors of that dish; it’s a must make dish.

Thank you ! It is soooo delicious

I've been seeing a ton of salads, vegan and vegetarian inspired posts today on Steemit. I'm wondering if it's a sign that I should start eating healthier. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe @adsactly!

Hahaha! Perhaps it is! It could be that people want to eat a little cleaner after thanksgiving too!

Lol, that is probably and most likely the case. I definitely feasted on Thanksgiving, and still am...maybe I'm seeing signs that I wanna see.

Hi adsactly,
Very interesting read, Thanks you for sharing it!

AJ picked your post @adsactly for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.


That looks delicious. Or should I say.... Yummy!

If someone says that it doesn't look good, then they are lying! 😎 And I'm sure it tastes fantastic 🤓

Thank you for your genuine comment! Upvoted 100%

It looks yammy )))) I'll defenatly try it )))) Thanks for sharing )))

It looks yummy.... Thanks for sharing the post and also the ingredients

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73