How To: Curing and Smoking a Ham

in #food6 years ago

20180303_201038.jpg

This is a basic recipe for curing a ham. You can add other herbs and spice to suit your tastes; this is something I want to experiment with. Although this calls for a 3-4 lb ham, it can easily scale to a larger piece. You just need to make more curing solution, leave it in the cure for longer, and cook longer.

Curing the ham

Ingredients

3-4 lb fresh ham
1 cup Salt, non-iodized
1 cup Brown sugar
1/2 tsp pepper
1 gallon water

Make the curing solution

  • Add salt, brown sugar and pepper to a large pot.

IMG_20180308_195340.jpg

  • Add half, 2 quarts, of the water and heat until the salt and sugar are dissolved.

IMG_20180308_201731.jpg

  • Add the other half, 2 quarts, of cold water and wait for the liquid to cool.
  • Place the ham into a large container. It needs to be big enough to completely submerge the ham.

IMG_20180308_204139.jpg

  • Pour the cooled curing solution over the ham. You might not need all of it but make sure the meat is covered.

IMG_20180308_204351.jpg

  • Put a weight, I use a plate, on top of the ham to hold it under the liquid.

IMG_20180308_204409.jpg

  • Cover, and place in the fridge for 1-2 weeks.

  • Every day or two, check on the ham and flip it over. Curing is finished when the ham is firm throughout.

IMG_20180311_183759~2.jpg

Smoking

Equipment

Smoker
Meat thermometer
Smoking wood chips. I use apple wood.

Directions

  • Soak wood chips in water for 30 minutes.
  • Preheat the smoker to 225 F and add the wood chips.
  • Remove ham from curing liquid and rinse well.

20180302_065135.jpg

  • Smoke the ham for 2-3 hours, or until it reaches an internal temperature of 150 F

20180303_170731.jpg

  • Add wood chips as needed during cooking.
  • Remove from smoker and allow to rest for 15 minutes
  • Enjoy

20180303_201038.jpg

What if I don't have a smoker?

You can still make ham!

One option is to use a gas or charcoal grill.
Weber has a great guide on using a charcoal grill as a smoker here. This is how I smoked meat before I got my smoker. It takes some extra work and experimenting to control the temperature but still makes a delicious ham.

If you don’t have a smoker or a grill, you can cook it in an oven but won’t get a smoky flavor. Follow the cooking instructions above, excluding the wood chips.

Sort:  

Hey, now I have a solution for that uncured ham I've got sitting out in the garage freezer! Thank you for posting this!! :)

That's why I started curing meat. I had a freezer full of uncured ham and pork belly that I needed to do something with.

I will try this next time I smoke a ham. I actually really like doing a salt and vinegar brine for several days and then smoke my ham. I will be interesting in how it will compare. Thanks for the information. I always like a barrel charcoal smoker but I tried out a nice electric one that I did not think I would like and well I love it. I just set it and walk away to do other things on the homestead without needing to keep an eye on it at all times. I also like it can double as a dehydrator simply by not adding wood pellets. I saved this recipe and will see how I like it. Thanks again.

I've never tried vinegar for the brine. I was a little concerned about flavor when switching from charcoal to electric but I've been impressed. It still has a good smoke flavor and is so much less work.

Using it as a dehydrator is such a great idea. I was planning on buying a dehydrator but will try using the smoker first. Thanks for the idea

That looks good! mmmm I'm hungry now.

It is really good. So much better than anything I have bought from the grocery store.

You got a 4.14% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @aisu!

Release the Kraken! You got a 6.93% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @aisu!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58