You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's better: organic or local? Co lepsze: ekologiczne czy lokalne? [EN/PL]

in #food6 years ago

I have the same problem ;)

I used to buy local one from a mill or an agricultural cooperative when I was in southern German forest.

Now I don't have a mill around. Actually I should search for one. Initially I bought organic 1kg pack time by time from a drag store (drag store has flour!) or a bio store.

This summer I got to know a mill that has a special flour called "Manitova flour". From them I buy regular flour for bread (T550), Manitovamehl (I use it to bake Japanese style fluffy bread) and cake baking flour (T405) online. None of them are organic. It's not good for environment but I'm appreciate that they are delivered to my place. I order around 20kg at a time. I cannot imagine to buy 1kg pack time by time anymore (+13kg daughter!). Talking about rye and wholegrain flour still I buy 1kg pack from a drag store or a bio store.

I'm curious what kind of solution do you find :)

Sort:  

I need to make the Japanese bread at some point. I know it's not my ultimate bread, but it sure looks beautiful :)

In many cases in Poland I've learned that food isn't bad even though it's not organic, so it doesn't need to be bad for the environment even without all the magic certificates with green leaves on them.

Bacheldre, the flour I started with, sells in retail only through Amazon and delivery to doorstep is a must for me since it's usually my wife receiving it. Shipton even packs the big bags in a cardboard so that they don't get damaged in transport. If I order small things with them, there's enough place in the box to add them so it's well thought through.

What do you mean by drag store? I tried to google up only to learn I have a nice drag queen store around here :D

It was my typing mistake. I wanted to type drug store, where people can buy almost everything except for fresh food in Germany. It's called dm-drogerie markt ... my life saver :D

:) in Poland Rossmann sells gluten free food so I'm not that surprised. Good thing you have your source :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98