Delectable Lunch at Cabalen

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180401_144629964.jpg

Here is a portrait of myself having lunch at Cabalen located at SM Manila. It was my first time to try their meals for our late lunch with my family during the holy week.

Anyway, I have so much to share to everyone during our one week vacation in Luzon but I suppose there is an unwritten agreement in our family. We would not be writing the same things as we all find duplication of articles unnecessary.

Hence I will feature a few of the things we experienced during our one week vacation. I hope you would be eager in reading today's entry. By the way, Alfredo is in Puerto Princesa, Palawan for the 6th School Administrator's Congress. Below is a photo of my beloved husband (the one on the left) with Department of Education's Undersecretary Jess Mateo.


IMG_20180401_142353732.jpg
We travelled all the way from Clark and so we ended up being exhausted when we reached Manila. We decided to stay at the BoyScout Hotel. The accomodation was not actually that expensive and we were only planning to stay there for a day.

The accomodation was actually okay but the internet is only available at the lobyy. Our room was also spacious and there were small drawers where we could put some of our stuff. There is also a dinning table. It was more like of an apartment type. There was also a hot and cold shower and two aircondition units. Sorry if I was not able to take a lot of photos of our place.

IMG_20180401_132118060.jpg

When we went outside, we could actually say that we are really in Manila because it was very hot.

It was already two in the afternoon when we decided to have our late lunch at SM Manila. Alfredo wanted to eat in a fastfood chain because the service is fast and the price is cheap. But the kids and I were tired of eating Chicken Joy at Jollibee so we decided to search for other options on the other floors.

Fortunately (and unfortunately for my husband), we were able to pass by Cabalen which is a renown restaurant that serves buffet meals for cheaper price. At that time, each person can pay Php 300 plus with tax. Our husband said no, but the three of us insisted. 3 versus 1, so it is obvious who won.

The place is also nice. It gives accent to the Filipino culture particularly art as it sheds light to some Filipino activities such as the colorful festivals.

IMG_20180401_152616714.jpg

IMG_20180401_152613790.jpg

IMG_20180401_152601841.jpg

IMG_20180401_152540513.jpg

IMG_20180401_152516009.jpg

IMG_20180401_152449819.jpg

As you can see, for the price of less than Php400.00, you can choose any from this array of dishes. These are Filipino dishes but I could not say these are legit Filipino dishes since a huge portion of the Filipino culture has been influenced by the Spanish colonizers.

There is a huge tray of pritchon or pritong lechon which means fried roasted pig. There are variety of sisig which I have thought that my kids would love. There is also fine desserts. I particularly liked the palitaw, which is made up of sticky rice and then covered with grated coconut and sugar.

My main concern was that @gailbelga might be able to eat a few of these dishes because she always prefer meat over anything else but then to my surprise she was eating a lot of mussels.

We spent an hour eating then. It was fun though because we were able to discuss a lot of things during our meal.

I really do appreciate these moments in my life. Indeed, food tends to bind people closer to each other. It bridges gap. It unites people. It is an activity that everyone loves to do.

I am looking forward to more moments like this in my life.

Lots of love,
Dahlia

P.S. If you have something to say, please feel free to comment below.

Sort:  

You are really passionate about narrating your whereabouts mam and truly its just entertaining for one like you. Shalom @alfredotongco. I bet blogging makes you feel young... hahahaha

Thank you for appreciating it.
Best of regards,
Dahlia

My pleasure @alfredotongco. Dropping by with this kind of blogs are definitely worth it. Shalom sir

I always visit Cabalen whenever I visit the Philippines 🙂 Kabayan here!

Cabalen is really one of a kind. Yum!

Yum! I wish to go back to this place again ma. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71077.17
ETH 3807.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47