RUSSIAN OLIVER SALAD

in #food7 years ago

Olivier salad is the most traditional Russian and Eastern European dish. It used to be made for holidays, parties and other special occasions. New Year’s Eve is the biggest holiday of all, and “Olivie” would be on almost all the tables as the clock would strike midnight. 

The ingredients are quite common and are pantry staples for most. It resembles a potato salad, of sorts, with the addition of other cooked vegetables and meat. In this recipe I did not use meat, so its a vegetarian Olivie. All the components of the salad mingle and meld to create a hearty, comforting salad.

Ingredients 

3-4 medium potatoes
3 large carrots
6 eggs
1 can of green peas ( about 125 gr)
6-8 pickled gherkins or pickles
Salt & Pepper
1 cup of Mayonnaise
Pork sausage ( or thick ham ) I didn't use in this video but you can add

Directions 

Step 1: Boil your potatoes and carrots for about 20-25 min. You dont want to overcook your vegetables, because we want them nice and crisp. 
Step 2: Boil your eggs for 10 min in a separate pan.. 
Step 3: Cut your gherkins, carrots, potatoes and boiled eggs into cubes. 
Step 4: Mix all the ingredients together with mayonnaise, salt and pepper. 
Step 5: Serve on a plate with some toasted rye bread and dill. Enjoy!

Watch the video here:

<

Lots of love,

Alla xox

Sort:  

I am a salad fan, now i need to eat one.

I like mayonnaise flavor. it give all kind of food more tasty.
Do you agree with me?

One of my favorite salads 😈

yes its the best :)

welcome to steemit

Well done @allasyummyfood, you are awasome. I made this video for you.

lol thanks MAX!!1

I am vegetarian so it challenges my improvising techniques and gives me ideas. Thank you. I am going to be posting in food so please follow me there for Indian cooking. Many wonderful ideas I will be sharing

yeah this recipe is vegetarian :D

clokt5.jpg

Yumm, that looks a lot better than the Olivier Salad we had in Estonia when I was there back in the late 90's lol. Then again, it was military food so that might have had something to do with it. :/

hahah yeah for sure its really different prob!

Моя бабушка обычно делает это так, что это сюрприз, чтобы увидеть это на steemit, но с тех пор, как я 11, я не понимал, что есть целые Pусские сообщества Golos (моя мама просто сказала мне).

My grandma normally makes this so it's a surprise to see this on steemit but since im 11 I didn't realize that there's a whole Russian community Golos (my mum just told me).

yeah i need to join there too!! i just havent had time yet!!!

Ohh yum, looks delicous! I'll make it with vegan mayo and tofu sausage - can't wait to try it ♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68434.91
ETH 3745.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66