Dutch Apple Pie For the Holidays

in #food5 years ago


Dutch Apple Pie

Hey y'all! Today I'll share this awesome classic, the dutch apple pie. I'm so exicted for the holidays and of course pies...Don't worry, calories don't count against you during the holiday season @stackin ;-) haha..

Enjoy!

Filling

1 9-inch Pie Crust
8 sliced regular sized Granny Smith apples (peeled and sliced)
¾ cup granulated Sugar
¼ Cup light Brown Sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
½ teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 Tablespoons fresh lemon juice
3 Tablespoons cornstarch + 2 teaspoons
¼ teaspoon Salt
1 Tablespoon unsalted butter, diced
Ice Cream

Topping
1 ½ Cups all-purpose flour
½ Cup granulated Sugar
½ Cup Light Brown sugar, packed
2/3 Cup unsalted Butter (room temperature)
¼ teaspoon of salt

Preheat oven to 375-degree F. In a large bowl, add in all the apples, both of the sugars for the filling, cinnamon, nutmeg, lemon juice, and 3 Tablespoons of cornstarch, and salt and gently combine everything together. Flour work area and roll out pie crust to fit pie pan. Add pie crust to 9.5 in pie pan and fit into bottom and prick pie crust with a fork. Trim and crimp pie crust around the edges and add crust to a cookies sheet to prevent a mess in the oven. Sprinkle 2 teaspoons of cornstarch to the bottom of the pie crust. Add the filling to your pie dish on top of pie crust and even it out the best you can. Add diced butter on top.
Topping
In a medium bowl, add in flour, both of the sugars for the topping and butter. Using a fork or pastry blender cut into mixture until it resembles coarsely crumbled. Sprinkle topping on top of apples as evenly as you can. Bake for a 1 and 20 minutes or until topping and crust is golden brown (after about 45-50 mins, if your crust is getting too brown add foil to the crust so it won’t burn for the remainder of time baking). Allow pie to cool completely before serving (I allowed mine to cool a whole day). Enjoy with vanilla ice cream!

Youtube Video

Sort:  

Looks great! Apple pie is the Alpha pie!

One of my favs, Apple pie! I’m just goin to go to mcdonalds and get a fake apple pies 🤣😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ooo those are addicting...but still don't compare. I think they just add a bunch of chemicals to make you addicted to it that's where people confuse it addicting doesn't equal good but people think it does...haha getting a little philosophical here.

I have to agree with you, I ate like 5 of them at one time and I slept for 10 hours 😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

uuuuuuuurrrrrrr filth. love apple pie! :)

hahah! Thanks.

It does really looks delicious if I get the chance ever to make an HM apple pie I would try it some day ;)

The Icecream just increased the beauty of it !!

Yeah! The ice cream is the extra sweetened boost you need lol because this isn't sweet enough.

yummy, I love apple pie!

that makes 2 of us!

shooooot.. looking at this at 1am and I have already brush my teeth.. T^T Not sure how you hated it.. I always love them :D hahhaa

It's ok just eat some before you go to bed, it's good for the teeth lol...

Really its awesome!

Wow, I'm shocked that you used to not like apple pie! And oh my gosh I totally agree that a good quality ice cream to go along with it makes it just that much better. Great video. Definitely makes me want sweets :D

Well, I never had a good one haha...but yeah the ice cream makes a big difference! lol...one day we will see your sweet cheating vlog! haha.

For the first 2minutes i kept watching your eyes moving everywhere, i couldn't catch them up😂 for me i hate pies but i think i will change my mind!

haha... I have a bad habit of moving my eyes I'm working on it lol...I think you would like this one though.

It's nice though :3

Posted using Partiko Android

Look like a very delicious apple pie! 😋

It is! 😋😋😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77