On-The-Go Breakfast: Coconut Mango Chia Seed Pudding

in #food7 years ago

Coconut-Mango-Chia-Seed-Pudding.jpg

Do you remember the Ch-Ch-Ch-Chia pet jingle? When I was a kid I owned a few chia pets, and never thought that one day I would have them for breakfast or a healthy snack.

Chia seeds have been called a superfood on several occasion and for some good reason. Next to their ability to take up 10 times their weight of water while forming a pudding or jam like substance, they are also jam packed with a whole range of health promoting nutrients.

These include dietary fiber, protein, omega-3 and 6 fatty acids, calcium, copper, phosphorus, potassium, and zinc. Furthermore chia seeds also contain mucin, strontium, Vitamins A, B, E, and D, and minerals including sulphur, iron, iodine, magnesium, manganese, niacin, thiamine, and they are a rich source of anti-oxidants.(omega 3 and 6), mucin, strontium, vitamin A, B, E, and D, and minerals including sulphur, iron, iodine, magnesium, manganese, niacin, thiamine, and they are a rich source of many antioxidants.

Enough reasons to start your day with chia seeds too? Or why not have it as a healthy snack. If you pour the pudding into 1 portion jars with a lid then they can easily be taken with you!

Ingredients (serves 2-3)

3 cups mangoes diced (save 1/2 cup for garnish )
2 cups unsweetened coconut milk or other milk of your choice
1/2 cup plain unsweetened yogurt or coconut yogurt
4 tablespoons chia seeds
2 tablespoons maple syrup or honey
2 tbsp desiccated coconut
2 tbsp dried goji berries
Vanilla extract (optional)

Instructions

  1. Blend 2.5 cup of the mango and milk in a blender until well combined.
  2. In a bowl, mix the mango-milk mixture with the yogurt, chia seeds, vanilla extract, and honey until well combined.
  3. Pour in 1 big bowl or divide over small 1-portion jars or bowls with a lid.
  4. Cover the bowl or jar with plastic wrap or lid and let chill in the fridge for a few hours or overnight. This will give the chia seed the time to turn the liquid into a pudding.
  5. Divide chia seed pudding evenly into bowls and garnish with diced mangoes, desiccated coconut, and goji berries.
    Add other toppings such as other fresh fruits, goji berries, mulberries or cacao nibs if you like. But this is totally optional.

Enjoy the rest of your day ;-)

ALL CONTENT IS MINE!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

This looks awesome! Much better than my oatmeal breakfast I am eating every morning now.

Hehe. Thanks! It is easy to make and you can make it for a few days. In the fridge, you can keep it for at least 3. Never lasted any longer than that at our home ;)

Oh that sounds so, so good! I am rather fond of homemade chia pudding, but your smoothie sounds like a trip to the tropics for the tastebuds! Totally going to try it😊

Also, thanks for the ear worm, that jingle is now stuck in my head, lol!

Thank you so much @generikat! As you can see I love chia pudding too. Not sure where you saw a smoothie though lol! Enjoy! I centrani loved this one. It mango season here right now. .. and I know. The jingle is stuck in my head too! I even watched the clip on youtube again! hehe!Thank you so much @generikat! As you can see I love chia pudding too. Not sure where you saw a smoothie though lol! Enjoy! I certainly loved this one. Its mango season here right now. .. and I know. The jingle is stuck in my head too! I even watched the clip on youtube again! hehe!

Ha ha ha! I think I spent too much time in the sun today weeding my garden, don't know why I typed smoothie instead of pudding, lol! Thanks for being so cool @amy-goodrich, it's very appreciated by this goof!😜

Lol! You are such a wonderful and inspiring human being @generikat

Those berries look like bird eye chilies :D
I gotta unfollow you because I always get hungry when you post, but then again you make yummy food so I'll keep following :]

Aww, thank you so much @tomekkk! I always love the color goji berries add to a dish! And they taste so much better than raisins!

That's a great recipe!! And the post is so well written! thank you sharing this wonderful recipe!! :) Have a great day! Upvoted!!

aww thank you so much ;) that's so kind of you to say!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69969.18
ETH 3697.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.23