Romaine Lettuce Boats with Red Beet Salad and Basil Vinaigrette

in #food7 years ago

DSCF8644.JPG

Today's lunch was a refreshing, colorful spring or summer detox salad. This just screams HEALTH, don't you think? It definitely gave me some energy to get me through this super busy day.

And now it's time to relax and put my feet up since it is a non-cook dinner day! Yeah for leftovers ;) Ohh.. and I have some of this morning's chia pudding left for dessert! I'm ready for a relaxing evening in front of the tv! It's been a while.

Any movie recommendations? No action or romantic movies... I love Lynch and Cronenberg style quirky movies or fantasy and science fiction!

Ingredients

For the basil dressing

1 tsp mustard
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp maple syrup
1/2 cup fresh basil leaves, finely chopped
Black pepper and sea salt to taste

For the red beet salad

1 cup shredded red cabbage, shredded
1/2 cup carrot, julienned
1/2 cup raw red beet, julienned
1/4 cup spring onion, finely chopped
1 small head romaine lettuce

Directions

  1. Combine all salad ingredients, except romaine lettuce, in a bowl. Toss to combine.
  2. Whisk together all dressing ingredients. For smooth paste-like consistency, blend in blender with a little water.
  3. Place romaine lettuce leaves on a plate, top with salad mix and drizzle with basil vinaigrette.

DSCF8645.JPG

Enjoy!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

[Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!](http://www.body-in-balance.org/

Sort:  

Lol! If you are quick, we have some leftovers in the fridge :-)

yummy :) that sounds really good ;)

It sure was @reconnectnature! Thanks for dropping by!

Yummy salad! ;)

Thanks @xredsoulless! Was very yummy indeed ;)

Thanks, I must cook, my wife will be delighted

Hehe! I hope she enjoys it too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69416.18
ETH 3671.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22