🍲 EASY VEGAN DINNERS | SPICY BLACK BEAN VEGETABLE CHILI WITH CASHEW PARMESAN 🍲

in #food6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0414.JPG

Greeting fellow steempunks! I successfully made a simple vegan dish both my parents liked! Woot Woot. As you may or may not know my parents are in Cambodia for 2.5 weeks. Though we want to spend as much time together as we can yesterday I decided to make a simple vegan meal for them to try!

And they loved it... or at least they said so hehe! Yes, even my meat-loving dad finished his plate!

As I said before my parents will never be vegans, and that's fine, but I was so proud they tried and loved it. Who knows they will at least incorporate Meatless Mondays from now on (or Veggie Thursdays, which is the Belgian initiative).

SPICY BLACK BEAN VEGETABLE CHILI WITH CASHEW PARMESAN


DSC_0403-1.jpg

INGREDIENTS (SERVES 4)


For the chili


  • 1 cup onion
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1.5 cup carrot, chopped
  • 1.5 cup celery, finely chopped
  • 1.5 cup bell pepper (any color), chopped
  • 2.5-3 cups tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 cup jalapenos, chopped (or more to taste)
  • 1-1.5 cup water
  • Dried oregano to taste
  • 1 bay leaf
  • Chili paste to taste
  • Black pepper and sea salt to taste
  • Fresh chopped parsley and or chives (cilantro works too but my hubby hates the taste)

For the cashew parmesan


  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1/2 cup raw cashews
  • 2-3 tbsp Nutritional yeast
  • Sea salt to taste

DIRECTIONS


For the chili


  1. Heat cooking oil over medium heat and saute onion for 3-5 minutes before adding the garlic. Cook for another minute while stirring regularly.
  2. Then add carrots, celery and bell pepper and cook for 3-5 minutes more.
  3. Blend half of the tomatoes in a blender until smooth. Add all other ingredients (except parsley) with the blended tomatoes to the pan and cook, covered, on low for 30-45 minutes. When ready stir in fresh parsley.
  4. Serve with fresh chives and cashew parmesan (see below) on top.

DSC_0390.JPG

DSC_0394.JPG

DSC_0397.JPG

DSC_0409-1.jpg

Make the cashew parmesan cheese while chili is cooking


Add all ingredients to a blender and process until small grain-like substance. Something that resembles grated parmesan. Set aside.

Parmesan-cashew.jpg

Enjoy the rest of the weekend!


signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


LET'S CONNECT!

Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE green smoothie eBook HERE!

DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

Sort:  

Wow!
Carefully directed 👍
This recipe should be on my menu list
Guess it's going to be so yummy

I hope you make it one day. We loved it! Thanks for stopping by!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.65 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.13
Server time: 01:13:35
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 813.96/1600.00
Total Photos: 77
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

The cashew parmesan looks awesome. I really want to make it but the people that NEED cashew parmesan in my family also can't eat garlic, which is a total bummer!!! I want to start making some vegan cheeses - Have you ever done that?

We love vegan cheese. It so easy and so yum. No garlic is a bummer indeed. I use it in nearly every dish!

I know, I used it in EVERYTHING, especially growing it myself. I think he can have garlic infused olive oil. I just separated my 'inferior' smaller garlic from my big ones that I will use for my big seed crop, so I might do some of that and give some away, and grow a smaller crop this year. Winter's nearly here so I imagine I'll be eating it raw anyway. Plus, the vampires.

Hehe! Nothing better to keep you immune system strong during winter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71258.50
ETH 3842.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43