Aquaponics Update: Planning an Expansion

in #food6 years ago

I Think I Need a Bigger Box!

KIMG0215.JPG

The lettuce and broccoli are growing fast. I think think I'm going to make a salad to take to lunch tomorrow.

KIMG0217.JPG

I'm looking at different things to use for a bigger grow bed. I'm hoping to find something suitable by the end of the week so I can scale up and add more vegetables to the system. I want to get a bigger tank and more fish too, but one step at a time.

Thinking About Adding a Swirl Filter

Sometime in the near future I may be adding a swirl filters to the system. This is just a simple bucket or container that allows the water to swirl around, collecting solid material at the bottom, before it's dumped into the grow bed.

Aquaponics-Swirl-filter-design.jpg

It's a relatively simple, cheap design. But it's effective. A five gallon bucket and a few pvc fittings is all it takes and it will make the water in the grow bed a lot cleaner. It's not that bad now, but solids build up over time.

swirlfileter1.jpg

I should be getting some more fish next week end as well. That's always exciting!

Stay free and support your local black/grey markets.

-Aahabb-

FB_IMG_1431696006501.jpg

Support #minnowuprising and #upvoteplankton.

Img. Source:

http://aquaponicsideasonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/Aquaponics-Swirl-filter-design

http://www.ecofilms.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/swirlfileter1

Sort:  

Wife and i are actively looking to get started on cray fish aquaponics. Im greatful for the info you post and hope to ask you some questions in the near future!

Thanks, glad I could offer some information.
I'm still learning but, I've picked up a few tidbits of know-how so far.
I'll answer anything I can and beyond that we can learn together.

So far I've just read this post, and your first one regarding aquaponics.. Do you discuss what type of fish/life you've got going in the water in one of your posts? Also, I'm wondering if you have a "spot" that's a good place to check out for gear?
Thanks again.

Scale up all the things!

Bigger water! Bigger box! Moar fishessss!

😆Go big or go home...and then go big at gome.

Congratulations @anarchoaahabb! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71