Zucchini Oatmeal Breakfast Bowl Recipe {Vegan, Healthy}

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit guys, how are you? How was your weekend? We were very busy this weekend and last week, I haven't had time to share a recipe with you. But here I am now with a new breakfast recipe. This breakfast bowl is healthy, delicious and gives you a great alternative if you are tired of regular oatmeals.

zoats2.jpg

Have you ever heard of “zoats”? Zoats = zucchini + oats.
Zoats refers to porridge with added shreds of nutrient-rich zucchini, which makes the ordinary oats healthier, adding vitamin C, vitamin B, Potassium, protein and fibre to your meal. It's a basic idea, really, just oatmeal combined with fresh zucchini.

zoats4.jpg

Sounds strange, but trust me, it’s surprisingly delicious.

This healthy bowl makes a filling and nutritious breakfast plus a great way to eat vegetables with your daily porridge.

zoats5.jpg

This new trendy breakfast is super easy to prepare, just grate up a zucchini and add it to your morning dose of porridge. Mix all with milk (I have used almond milk, but feel free to use any milk or even water), cook or microwave until all combined and tender. Flavor your zoats with cinnamon and vanilla, plus add some sweetener if you desire. Top the hot zoat bowl with your favorite topping. Add some chocolate and you won't even notice the zucchini taste! Enjoy!

zoats7.jpg

Zoats Breakfast Bowl


Prep time: 5 mins | Cooking time: 10 mins

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats (gluten free if necessary)
  • 1 cup finely shredded zucchini
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • dark chocolate, banana, strawberry, raspberry for topping
  • sweetener if you desire

Method:

  1. Shred the unpeeled zucchini, using a cheese grater. Set aside.
  2. Add the oat to a sauce pan, pour in the milk, until the oat is covered. Bring it to boil on low heat, stir occasionally.
  3. When the oats soaked most of the milk, add the zucchini, spices, stir and cook for 8-10 minutes.
  4. Top the zoats bowl with your favorite toppping!

Diet: Vegan, Vegetarian, with Gluten Free and Sugar free option


zoats6.jpg


Note: The recipe and pictures are all mine!

Check out my other recipes!

Love,
Anna ♡


Find me on social media!
Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram
Copyright © 2018 | Anna - My Zucchini Recipes

Sort:  

It looks yummy. I think I'd have write down the recipe. I have few vegetarian friends, I strongly will recommend it for them if it is tasty as it looks.

Thank you so much! Trust me, it's tasty, they will love this breakfast bowl! :)

Great idea! I am all for veggies at every meal. Beautiful post Anna!

Thank you so much! :)

I've been wanting to give zoats for a while now. Thank you so much for the recipe. I'll give this a try, I have a zucchini laying around in my fridge so this is perfect timing :)

Thank you Nina, let me know how it turned out! I hope you'll like it! :)

Would never have thought to add zukes to oats, or any breakfast really- it's genius! The photos are amazing! Love the contrast between the pale green oats and the red berries. Might actually get me to eat oatmeal with this one!

Oats and zucchini!! Sounds intresting to try! What a beautiful post @annaskitchen!
Thanks for sharing something new and refreshing! 🤗😙

Anna, I'm in love with your zucchini recipe ♥ Thank you so much for sharing it with us! I added it to my 5 favourite recipes here: https://steemit.com/food/@isshappy/iss-happy-s-5-favorite-vegan-steemit-recipes-of-the-week-6 Have a great weekend :)

Thank you so much! ♥ I'm so glad you liked my recipe! :)

Great idea to make the zoats! I never heard of that before. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

Thank you for your kind words! Zoats are pretty popular nowadays, probably because is considered healthy and they also taste amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73