You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Love's Epic Food Journey: Starting With Sourdough, Make your own Sourdough Mother and your first loaves of bread, Step by Step

in #food5 years ago

This is interesting. I noticed you have some yeast and sugar in your sourdough starter, but have you created a sourdough without any added yeast? At simplest, you could create a sourdough from only plain water and flours, but I've usually added a little bit of shredded apple..

So my sourdough starter comes from water, wholewheat flour and a little bit of shredded, organic apple. I wouldn't recommend this if one was allergic to apples, even though the apple will disappear completely from the sourdough after a few times you've used it and re-created it.

Still, this is a nice post :)

Sort:  

I only add a tiny bit of yeast to a brand new starter to get it going. I bake bread with the starter and add a little yeast for the first month or so. The loaves in the photos are completely free of store bought yeast unless you want to count the finite molecular amount that might still be in the starter from day 1. I use the starter almost everyday so I doubt there's enough in there to count it. It's just to get the starter started.

I understand it is possible to start a starter without added yeast. I actually throw all kinds of unconventional things in my starter. Boiled potatoes and potato water, old cooked rice, sweet potatoes, pumpkin puree, banana, etc. They say around here to not leave anything on your plate or Love will take it and put it in the starter or the bread dough.

Love the apple idea. I bet that's tasty.

Keep on Steemiting.

I do see the benefit of your style, you still get the sourness in the dough with that. I'm not sure how large differences you can see if you will use different ways to start the dough. But I would recommend to try the apple version sometimes!

The point of using organic apple (or other fruit) is that there's natural yeast in the apple and the peel. That's why it's important it's not sprayed with pesticide and such and why it has to be fresh and not cooked.

But as mentioned, I do not know if there is ultimattely much difference. There might be, as we have many different kinds of yeast in the world :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87