110 Calorie cocktail! AKA: Drink without blowing up your waistline.

in #food6 years ago

50FC850A-6425-4B4B-B257-15E9DD7DBC28.jpeg

I’m taking a leap of faith here and posting at 2:56 am

...simply because I cannot sleep. And when you cannot sleep, what do you do? You hang out in Steemit, that’s what you do.

Like every other person in the Word, I’m trying to lose the 5 solid lbs I gained over the Holidays. I eat pretty healthy usually and feel like there’s not a whole lot I can change in order to lose those few extra lbs...with my food diet at least. Drinking is where my downfall comes into play. (Not in an alcoholic kinda way.)

Two words. Craft. Beer.

I absolutely love beer and that is definitely my drink of choice. But the calories...there is a frightening amount of calories in beer and we all know you can’t just have one. I decided that I needed to figure out some sort of low calorie alternative to at least switch off with. The thing is, I’m not an”cocktail” kinda gal. I like beer, wine (only red and Chardonnay) anne whiskey. Every so often I’ll order a dirty martini if I’m feeling really fancy.

I heard about this whole spiked seltzer water craze and decided to give it a shot. Nope. Not my thing. I mean, they aren’t bad but I wouldn’t say I really enjoyed drinking it. So tonight, I decided to experiment and see if there was anything I could do to tweak this spiked seltzer into something somewhat enjoyable while still mainting the low calorie aspect.

And ladies and gentlemen, I think I made a pretty ok drink and kept those calories super low so I figured I’d share with you all.

And now, I give you the “tweaked seltzer” (obviously my success streak ended right before I picked out a name haha.)

First, you start off with a can of any spiked seltzer. Any flavor will do, I tried 4 different flavors tonight and didn’t notice much of a difference.

EA5007A8-6B21-433D-B955-4192EFA0B724.jpeg

Then fill up your glass with some ice and frozen strawberries/and or raspberries.

9D153776-AA8E-41EF-A41E-395144CA654B.jpeg

Then pour your seltzer over the ice and fruit. Let it sit for around 5 minutes to let the water take on some of the fruit flavor. (You can also squeeze a little lemon juice in if you like sour like I do!

914B1C55-F902-4609-A6FF-2263AFCA4CB2.jpeg

The top it off with a few mint leaves! And now, it’s not just for looks, it actually adds some killer flavor to the cocktail so make sure to not skip that mint!

476CCAA8-D656-4C8D-8BE4-CB0DE363E9BA.jpeg

There you have it! The “Tweaked Seltzer” coming in at a whopping 110 calories!

Let me know if you decide to try it and what you think!

Cheers!

Www.artbyjessycamyers.com
Www.facebook.com/artbyjessycamyers
Www.instagram.com/art_by_jessyca

Sort:  

Might try it next weekend haha. Nice post!

Let me know what you think! 😊

Good food for health

I am very interested in your post.
Can you help vote on posts in my account?
I always upvote your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50