Just Eat. No Way.

in #food5 years ago

It was brought to my attention by @pennsif the video below

This is not my video it was shared to me and represents what is in this post, I am not taking credit for it.

I have had my own feelings about just eat for some time now, I have always said that they are bad news and I tend not to use them unless I am a way with no takeaway phone numbers.

Working in an industry where people order food is always difficult, nothing is guaranteed from one day to the next, profits margins are always something to be looked at and sometimes food prices go up and you can find yourself not making any money.

I have worked in many takeaways, it is my life and I enjoy working lates. with me been the only english person that has worked in these takeaways I seem to get the responsibility of cashing up, book keeping and ordering.

Food prices have risen, and so has the price of fuel, this is making life very hard for takeaways all around the country.

One popular app to use to order food is Just Eat, it has everything you can think of on there to eat and there is always something open at any time of the day.

Just eat takes a % of a takeaways money for using their services, 15% is taken from every order then 20% tax. this is a total of 35% of a takeaways money just for using the service.

It also costs a massive £650 for a just eat machine, this is a place for a takeaway to receive your order when you place it.

Once you are with just eat it is then down to them to advertise your business to get you the customers that you need to run the takeaway, and this can make your takeaway busy.

But your takeaway might be busy but that doesn't mean you are making any money.

some Takeaways operate on a profit margin of 30%, then just eat come along and take their 15%, this is a huge piece of the pie to take.

I have seen a massive drop in takings from takeaways and this doesn't sit right for me, I know that times are a little tough but what is happening?

The owner of the shop I work for has me do his books, it is easier for both and quicker for me to do them, in the last 4 months I have seen takings drop by £1000 per week on just eat.

So I had a look to see what was going on, competition is strong with many takeaways, and where we are listed on the just eat website also has a massive play on this too.

In the video above it also shows you of other takeaway that have struggled because of them and it is clearly the case when more and more takeaways are up for sale than ever before.

Also in the video it tells us that just eat only work with takeaways that have a food rating 4 to 5 stars, I have also done a little digging into the takeaways that operate near me and one of my favorites is only 1 star.

I won't be ordering from there again knowing this information.

It also shows you in the video that the staff from some of these places don't know about allergens and this is code of practice for everybody operating and working in a takeaway.

But it is hard to know what is in food products and 90% of staff that work in these places can't read english and speaking it can sometimes be just as hard.

I worked in a chinese before, this was interesting as the chinese guy who ran it used to tell everybody they would be fine to eat his food, as he had no idea what they were talking about.

It's not a shock real for me to see this as some takeaway are put together half hearted and only want your money with no care in the world for the customers.

If you need to order I have advice for you,

  1. phone the takeaway.
    This is the best way as it saves you money, and helps put money in the takeaways till instead of just eats.

  2. only order food that you know what goes in it.
    It is hard sometimes to communicate with none speaking english people, the best thing to do is ask and if you are not sure don't buy it.

  3. check the food rating here
    http://ratings.food.gov.uk/ this tool helps you know what standard the takeaway you are using, a quick simple search with the name of the takeaway and the area it is in will give you the information you need to make a good informed choice.

If you are unsure about the takeaway you are ordering from, order from one that you have had before then you will know what you are getting everytime.

@artonmysleeve

Sort:  

Hi @artonmysleeve!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.451 which ranks you at #6870 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 6871).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 233 contributions, your post is ranked at #203.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97