Plant-Based Persian Recipe - Lubia Polow (Green Beans Rice)

in #food6 years ago (edited)

8.jpg

Happy Monday everyone! I have cooked another one of my favourite #Persian dishes, 'Lubia Polow'. 'Lubia' is the Persian word for green beans and 'Polow' is the Persian word for rice. Since the Persian New Year, "Naw Ruz", is upon us (only 9 days away!!!), I thought it would be fitting to share with you another delicious, heart-warming taste of Persia (my version). By the way, I am super excited to celebrate #NawRuz this year with my beautiful Persian family here in Australia!

I'm entering this post into the #fruitsandveggiesmonday contest, thanks to the lovely creator @lenasveganliving, who has some amazing plant-based recipies and supports the #makeithealthy project!


RECIPE ~ LUBIA POLOW

Serves 4 | Prep 10 min | Cook 60 min


Ashleigh Chanel Head Shot.

Ingredients:

  • 500g Green Beans
  • 500g Button Mushrooms
  • 3-4 Tomatoes
  • 2 Brown Onions
  • 1-2 Tsp Turmeric
  • 2-3 Tbsp Tomato Paste
  • 1-2 Tbsp Lime Juice (to taste)
  • 1-2 Tbsp Salt (Pink Himalayan or Sea Salt) (to taste)
  • 2-3 Tbsp Olive Oil (or frying oil of choice; i.e. Coconut Oil)
  • 2 cups Basmati rice, rinsed

Method:

  1. Rinse the rice in a bowl at least 3-4 times until water is clear.
  2. Add 3 & 1/2 cups cold water to the rice to soak while you fry the vegetables.
  3. Wash & chop the vegetables.
  4. Ashleigh Chanel Head Shot.
  5. Fry the onions.







  6. Ashleigh Chanel Head Shot.
  7. Once the onions are transparent, add in the mushrooms & green beans.
  8. Fry for about 10 min.





  9. Ashleigh Chanel Head Shot.
  10. Add turmeric, tomato paste, tomatoes, and 1 Tbsp salt.






  11. Ashleigh Chanel Head Shot.
  12. Add lime juice, stir and fry for another 5-10 min to infuse the flavours.






  13. Ashleigh Chanel Head Shot.
  14. Add the rice and the 3 & 1/2 cups water into the pot and the second Tbsp of salt.
  15. Keep the heat on High and put the lid on top.
  16. When the water has steamed out (approx 15min), reduce the heat to Low and continue to steam the rice for another 10 min.
  17. Turn off the heat and let it sit for at least 5 min.
  18. Take off the lid, flip over the pot and pour the rice onto a large serving plate.

Enjoy! (It doesn't last long!)

8.jpg


All of the photos in this post are my own.


Ashleigh Chanel Head Shot.

I'm @ashleighchanel. I'm incredibly passionate about public health. If you liked this post, upvote and follow me for more! Best wishes!

Sort:  

What a delicious sounding dish @ashleighchanel. I will have to try it sometime. Congratulations again on your win in #fruitsandveggiesmonday, I now follow you and look forward to seeing more delicious plant-based recipes from you!

Thanks so much @gardeningchef! I have also followed you and likewise look forward to your posts!

I am in the process of learning more about persian food. So far everything has been good! I will try out this recipient :)

That's great! I hope it works out well for you and I hope you love it!

That looks good! I love turmeric rice, and veggies!

Thanks! Turmeric is one of the main ingredients in a lot of Persian dishes.

This looks delicious, thanks for the recipe

Thanks! You're welcome!

Oh my goodness, this must taste wonderfully my Dear. I wish I have some right now 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓

Collage.jpg

Thanks Lena! I wish you had some too!

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU ! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
3.png

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 14:06:18
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 15.15/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I can see why that wouldn't last long! Looks absolutely scrumptious! I just ate and I'd still take a bowl. ;)

Haha! Thanks I'm sure you would love this. It's not the healthiest recipe out there due to the frying and the salt, but this is more about the flavours; it hits the spot when you're really hungry.

It's still a much cleaner "cheat" when you make it at home! 😉

That's very true. You can control the ingredients. With Persian food, it's difficult to control your portions though because you just want to eat it all! :)

Haha, yes good food can be tough to stick to a proper portion!

A wonderful post and a good recipe !!!!

Thanks @tali72 ! Glad you liked it :)

That looks delicious! I "pin it on my wall" to not forget about it. 😉
Congratulations!

Great idea! I do hope you give it a try because I doubt you will be disappointed :) Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54