You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Roasted Chestnuts

in #food5 years ago

I've had these as a kid, my dad put them in the oven until they were as hard as a hard rubber eraser. Many years later I bought some and roasted them in a fireplace, in a tin can on top of ambers. I never scored them or soaked them in water, cooked them until they were breaking open and some had a bit of a burnt shell/yellow meat but you cannot really cook them too much though if you cook em untill they shrivel and are hard as a rock you'll have to brace yourself if you plan on eating them as they will be really hard to chew, kinda like hard candy. They always tasted kinda like chicken to me, and the texture was also "meaty". So I would do some without putting them in water or scoring/cutting into them and check to see when they split open if they are hard and decide on how much longer to leave the rest in the oven for based on that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87