Okonomiyaki, Hiroshima Style!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hey #Steemit community! The @backpackingchef here!! Today I want to share with you an awesome dish some locals showed me, while in Hiroshima, Japan!

Okonomiyaki

LRM_EXPORT_20180531_171544.jpg

The word Okonomiyaki, translates to 'how you like, grill' essentially, this dish is a savoury pancake, and can be cooked how you like, with different toppings.

Traditionally this dish is mixed together with all the ingredients (batter, cabbage, egg and green onion) but the Hiroshima style is layered and has a layer of crispy noodles at the bottom (much more satisfying, in my opinion!)

There are many Okonomiyaki bars around every city, and their menus generally run you through the process. But I'll help you out, just in case!

First things first! You must choose your noodles, Udon or Yakisoba!

LRM_EXPORT_20180531_173251.jpg

Then, comes the pancake!

LRM_EXPORT_20180531_172731.jpg

Afterwards, the cabbage!

LRM_EXPORT_20180531_173608.jpg

Next! Which toppings would you like? Generally a choice between seafood, pork, squid, cheese or mushroom even all of them if you're feeling extravagent!

LRM_EXPORT_20180531_174220.jpg

Lastly, a double serving or is one plenty for you?
And of course how spicy do you like it?

LRM_EXPORT_20180531_180447.jpg

Okonomiyaki is always topped with fried egg, Okonomiyaki sauce (Kind of a spicy bbq sauce), seaweed flakes, dried bonito flakes and seasoning.

LRM_EXPORT_20180531_182851.jpg

Watching the Okonomiyaki chef work his magic in front of you is always a treat, as a chef myself, I have a true respect for Japanese chefs. Everything has it's place and purpose, and the cooking of even a simple meal is almost like a refined dance to them.

LRM_EXPORT_20180531_190753.jpg

As my Japanese hosts told me prior to our meal, it is preferred to drink beer with Okonomiyaki, and there's no need for moderation as it's a casual meal!

LRM_EXPORT_20180531_191209.jpg

Now all that's left to do is eat, and as the Japanese say, before eating, 'itadakimasu!'

I'm the @backpackingchef, and I hope you enjoyed this article! I strongly recommend checking out an Okonomiyaki bar when in Japan! Especially the Hiroshima style!

Please feel free to comment and tell me what you think! And if you've tried this mouth-watering dish! I love hearing from you all.

Next time, I'll be writing about my home, Western Australia!

FB_IMG_1525534304729.jpg

Lots of love, the @backpackingchef!

Sort:  

I might have had a chance to test some okonomiyaki at the Maker Faire in Friedrichshafen, Germany, last weekend but I unfortunately missed it. What a pity!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-31T16:40:54
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 13.00/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

oh waaw this is some pretty delicious food 😋 enjoy and have a great day!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=backpackingchef
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=okonomiyaki-hiroshima-style


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Somehow I never stumbled across this dish when I was in Japan. Had it for the first time a few weeks ago here in Taipei. I had two different kinds and both had a lot of ginger - wasn't my cup of tea. But I think I will give it another chance!

Thanks for the comment @lordofthewaves, I didn't release they made it in Taipei! That's interesting, the Japanese version doesn't generally use ginger, some places in Japan do, but it's never overwhelming. Definitely give it a go!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54