Breakfast Monday - Traditional South Karnataka Odu dosa

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Good Morning everyone!! I have decided to post one of my traditional breakfast dish every Monday. This way I get to give you all a glimpse of my culture and tradition.
India is a vast country with varied cultures. Each state has a number of cast and sub castes and each of them have their own language, customs and food. I belong to South Karnataka, the coastal belt city of Mangalore.
We have a delicious variety of breakfast made here and this is one of them.
IMG_20180219_093915-1.jpg

Dosa itself has a number of variety. This is a simple one amongst them. Odu dosa is also called kappa roti or vodu dosa,we don’t use oil while making this dosa.It is typically done on a clay pan or cast iron pan. The cast iron pan gives it a beautiful brown colour at the bottom. We don't flip this dosa, so that way the bottom remains crisp and the top soft and fluffy. This is the image of the bottom.
IMG_20180219_093423.jpg
It is made in this type of cast iron pan and covered with a lid. It is let to cook for five minutes.
IMG_20180219_093301.jpg
You can eat this with chutney, dip it in tea or have it with some authentic chicken curry. It is absolutely delicious and super easy to make.
You can follow my blog @bakermaker for more such post and can also view my cakes, photography, writing and other works there!

Let me know what you had for breakfast in the comments below. I would love to learn about your tradition too. Thanks for watching have a great day ahead.

Sort:  

Nice post. I think i have tasted one of these once (not fresh) when we were staying in the same hotel as some vert nice Indian people in Paris.

Oh that's great! If ever you come down to south India and Karnataka specially then do give it a try fresh and hot. I will be posting more delicacies every week which you can add to your list.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70